Best POS Systems for Bookstores in 2027

Seven POS systems, checked against what bookstores run on: special orders, ISBN-keyed stock, supplier reordering and author events. Two vendors publish a bookstore page. Five do not, and 40 of the 49 feature cells in our table read Not stated. This page says which is which. Facts checked October 27, 2027.

We may earn a commission from links on this page. This does not affect our recommendations. See our Editorial Policy.

  • Top pick overall: Lightspeed Retail, from $89 a month billed annually, $109 billed monthly.
  • Best budget and the most bookstore features stated: Hike, from $59 a month billed annually, $708 a year.
  • Best for bookstores that also sell online: Shopify POS, from $39 a month for Basic.
Illustration: a bookseller scanning a book at the counter of an independent bookshop

Our Top Bookstore POS Picks at a Glance

Three picks below. Ranking the best POS systems for bookshops on published evidence leaves the two vendors with a real bookstore page, plus one that covers selling books online.

  • Best for bookshops with large catalogs, author events and gift returns.

    Hike

    From $59 a month billed annually, $69 monthly, which is $708 a year against Lightspeed's $1,068. Lists four of our seven feature columns, more than any other system here, including a catalog organized by title, author, genre and edition.

  • Best for bookstores selling online and at the counter from one system.

    Shopify POS

    From $39 a month for Basic, plus $89 a month per location for POS Pro billed yearly. Shopify's page covers selling books rather than a bookstore POS, so it confirms one of our seven columns: the online store and the counter running on one system.

Prices from each vendor's own pricing page, checked October 2027. Lightspeed's $109 monthly figure comes from the billing toggle read in a browser on October 16, 2027; the page text shows only the $89 figure.

Why a Generic Retail POS Breaks in a Bookstore

A clothing store carries hundreds of SKUs. A bookstore carries thousands of titles, and each one is a distinct edition with its own ISBN. A bookstore point of sale system has to hold that shape of catalog, and two systems here say theirs does. Hike lists a catalog organized by title, author, genre and edition. Lightspeed lists reordering from built-in supplier catalogs. The other five say nothing about either on the pages we read.

Special orders are the test a generic POS fails. A customer asks for a title you do not stock, you order it, and six days later somebody has to remember who asked and call them. Hike and Lightspeed both list special-order tracking with customer notification. That is 2 of 7 systems.

ISBNs decide what your inventory file can even contain. On the American Booksellers Association web platform, an item without a recognized ISBN is dropped from an inventory upload, so an ISBN-less record does not look untidy, it disappears. The ABA documents a separate route for used, signed or unique copies: you enter them as custom store books. No POS page we read documents used-book trade-in or consignment, so plan that workflow around the platform rules rather than around a POS feature list.

Then there is who you sell to. Sell to a school district or a municipal library and the exemption rules come from the state, not the POS. Texas treats a qualified nonprofit educational organization as not automatically tax exempt, able to apply for state tax exemption, and the buyer hands you a properly completed exemption certificate to document the exempt sale. Florida exempts governmental entities including school districts and municipal libraries, which obtain a Consumer's Certificate of Exemption, Form DR-14. None of the seven systems states that it handles tax-exempt sales.

“Managing thousands of book titles and tracking stock manually was becoming difficult. Our bookstore POS software has helped us organize product sales and inventory.”

Independent Bookstore Owner

The table below shows which system confirms which feature, and where the answer is Not stated. It is Not stated in 40 of 49 cells.

Compare the Top Bookstore POS Systems

System Starting price Special orders + customer notice Catalog by author, edition Reorder from supplier catalog Author events Gift returns ISBN import, barcode scan Online store, same system
Lightspeed RetailBest overall From $89/mo annual; $109/mo monthly Confirmed Not stated Confirmed Confirmed Not stated Not stated Not stated
Hike From $59/mo annual; $69/mo monthly Confirmed Confirmed Not stated Confirmed Confirmed Not stated Not stated
Shopify POS From $39/mo Basic; Pro +$89/mo per location, yearly Not stated Not stated Not stated Not stated Not stated Not stated Confirmed
Square Free $0/mo; paid from $49/mo per location Not stated Not stated Not stated Not stated Not stated Confirmed, customer story Not stated
SpotOn Terminal $25/mo + $200 hardware Not stated Not stated Not stated Not stated Not stated Not stated Not stated
Global Payments Genius From $0/mo + 2.6% + $0.10 per transaction Not stated Not stated Not stated Not stated Not stated Not stated Not stated
KORONA POS Core $59, Retail $79, Plus $99 per terminal/mo Not stated Not stated Not stated Not stated Not stated Not stated Not stated

Prices verified October 2027, from each vendor's own page. Check the vendor for current rates. Not stated means the pages we read do not state it, not that the system lacks it. Forty of these 49 feature cells read Not stated. Four features bookstores ask about appear on none of the seven pages: used-book trade-in or consignment, ISBN lookup, event ticketing and tax-exempt sale handling.

Bookshop Manager

One feature sits outside the nine columns because a single system states it. Hike lists gift returns with instant inventory update, and that claim appears in Hike's row and in its review below. No other system here mentions gift returns.

“ISBN barcode scanning and book inventory tracking were essential features for our store. These tools have made checkout and stock management more efficient.”

Lightspeed Retail: Best for special orders, events and supplier reordering

Lightspeed publishes a bookstore page, and that page is why it leads here. It lists special orders, events and promotions, and reordering from built-in supplier catalogs. For a store that reorders from a wholesaler every week and chases customer-ordered titles, those are the three jobs a generic retail POS leaves you doing by hand, and built-in supplier catalogs are the closest thing in this set to a POS with publisher and supplier management built in.

The price is the highest entry point here. Basic runs $89 a month billed annually or $109 billed monthly, a $20 gap. Over a year: $1,068 billed annually against $1,308 billed monthly, a $240 difference, 18.3 percent of the monthly-billed year. The page text shows only the 89 figure. The 109 came from the billing toggle, read in a browser on October 16, 2027.

What Lightspeed's bookstore page does not say: nothing about catalog organization by author or edition, nothing about ISBN import, nothing about gift returns, nothing about used copies. Three of our seven feature columns are confirmed. Ask a sales rep about ISBN handling and used stock before you sign, because the published page answers neither.

Pros

  • Special-order tracking with customer notification, stated on its bookstore page.
  • Reordering from built-in supplier catalogs, the only system here to state it.
  • Events and promotions tools for author nights.
  • A bookstore page that names bookstore features rather than retail generalities.

Cons

  • Highest starting price here at $89 a month annual, $109 monthly.
  • The $109 monthly figure is not in the page text, only the billing toggle.
  • Says nothing about ISBN import, used copies or catalog structure.

Pricing: Basic from $89 a month billed annually, $109 a month billed monthly. Source: lightspeedhq.com/pos/retail/pricing

Hike: Best for large catalogs, author events and gift returns

Hike's bookshop page lists more bookstore features than any other page in this set: special-order tracking with customer notification, a catalog organized by title, author, genre and edition, event planning and promotion, and gift returns with instant inventory update. Four of our seven columns, against three for Lightspeed.

It also costs less. From $59 a month billed annually or $69 monthly, a $10 gap, $708 against $828 over a year. That is $360 a year under Lightspeed's annual rate.

Two cautions. The catalog-by-edition and gift-return claims come from Hike's own marketing page, the same class of source as every other feature in the table. Hike is also the least familiar name here for a store that wants local hardware support, and its pricing page is general Hike POS pricing rather than a bookshop plan. Nothing on the page addresses used-book trade-ins or ISBN import.

Pros

  • Catalog organized by title, author, genre and edition, the only system to state it.
  • Special-order tracking with customer notification.
  • Gift returns with instant inventory update, the only such claim here.
  • $59 a month billed annually, $360 a year under Lightspeed's annual rate.

Cons

  • Smallest brand in this set, which matters for hardware support.
  • Pricing read is general Hike POS pricing, not a bookshop plan.
  • No statement on ISBN import or used copies.

Pricing: From $59 a month billed annually, $69 a month billed monthly. Source: hikeup.com/pricing

Shopify POS: Best for a bookstore that also sells online

Shopify is here for one reason, and it is a real one: one system behind the website and the counter. If you want a POS with ecommerce integration for bookstores, it is the only system here that states one. For a store shipping signed copies to customers who found it through a podcast, running two inventory systems is the problem, and Shopify's sell-books page addresses selling books online plus in person.

The price structure has two parts and the second is easy to miss. Basic starts at $39 a month. POS Pro, the in-store tier, adds $89 a month per location billed yearly. One location on both comes to $128 a month, $1,536 a year. Two locations, because Pro is priced per location, comes to $217 a month, $2,604 a year. Basic alone is $468 a year, and the POS features sit in Pro.

The gap is bookstore specificity. Shopify's page covers selling books, not a bookstore POS. No special orders, no catalog by edition, no supplier catalogs, no ISBN import on the page we read. One of our seven columns is confirmed. If your store is mostly a counter, Lightspeed or Hike answers more of your questions in writing.

Pros

  • Online store and counter from one system, stated on its sell-books page.
  • Lowest entry figure here at $39 a month for Basic.
  • Largest ecommerce ecosystem of the seven.

Cons

  • POS Pro adds $89 a month per location billed yearly, so one location on both is $128 a month.
  • A sell-books page, not a bookstore POS page.
  • Nothing stated on special orders, editions, supplier catalogs or ISBN import.

Pricing: From $39 a month for Basic billed monthly. POS Pro adds $89 a month per location billed yearly. Source: shopify.com/pos/pricing

“We wanted to connect our physical bookstore with our online sales channel. The ecommerce integration has helped us manage inventory across both channels.”

Bookstore Operations Manager

Find the right POS.

Square: Best for ISBN import and barcode scanning, on one customer's account

Square is the only system here with any ISBN claim attached to it, and it comes from a Square customer story about a bookstore: ISBN import, barcode scanning at checkout and purchase-order import for large orders. That is a bookstore describing its own setup, published by Square, which is weaker evidence than a product page and stronger than nothing.

The price floor is the lowest here. Square Free is $0 a month per location, with paid plans from $49 a month per location, $588 a year. Square prices per month and the page does not state whether that $49 assumes monthly or annual billing, so treat it as a monthly figure.

Square has no bookstore page in this set. The ISBN claim is one store's account, not a stated product feature, and it is the only one of our seven columns Square confirms. If ISBN import is your deciding factor, confirm it with Square and ask to see it in a demo before you commit.

Pros

  • $0 a month software on Square Free, per location.
  • ISBN import, barcode scanning and purchase-order import, in a published customer story.
  • Paid tier from $49 a month per location, $588 a year.

Cons

  • No bookstore page, so the ISBN evidence is a customer story rather than a product page.
  • Monthly versus annual billing not stated for the $49 figure.
  • Six of our seven feature columns read Not stated.

Pricing: Square Free $0 a month per location. Paid plans from $49 a month per location. Priced per month; monthly versus annual billing not stated. Source: squareup.com/us/en/point-of-sale/retail/pricing

SpotOn: Named bookstores on its retail page, with no bookstore features stated

SpotOn's retail page names bookstores among the business types it serves. That is the whole of the bookstore evidence. Zero of our seven feature columns are confirmed, and we found no SpotOn page describing special orders, ISBN handling, supplier catalogs or anything else a bookstore buys a POS for.

The pricing is the clearest in this set, and it is the reason to read on. Terminal is $25 a month software plus $200 hardware, so $500 in year one and $300 a year after. Terminal plus Website is $90 a month plus $200 hardware plus a $175 website setup fee, labeled on the page as setup fee/50% savings, so $1,455 in year one and $1,080 a year after. The step from Terminal to Terminal plus Website is $65 a month.

Treat SpotOn as a priced unknown for a bookstore. The numbers are stated. The bookstore fit is not.

Pros

  • Lowest stated software price with hardware named in the quote, $25 a month plus $200.
  • Hardware and website setup fees published rather than quoted on a call.
  • Bookstores named on the retail page.

Cons

  • Zero bookstore features stated on any page we read.
  • A $175 website setup fee sits on top of the monthly and hardware cost.
  • Terminal plus Website costs $65 a month more than Terminal.

Pricing: Terminal: $25 a month software plus $200 hardware. Terminal plus Website: $90 a month plus $200 hardware plus a $175 website setup fee, the page label reading setup fee/50% savings. Source: spoton.com/retail

Global Payments Genius: A name-only listing, with transaction pricing published

The Genius page lists Bookstores among small retail business types. No features follow it. Zero of our seven columns are confirmed for Genius, and we are not claiming otherwise.

What Genius does publish is the transaction economics, and for a bookstore those matter more than the software line. The FAQ says pricing starts as low as $0 per month plus 2.6% + $0.10 per transaction, and the pricing page shows Essentials from $0 a month at those rates, for certain in-person card transactions. The currency is not stated on the page.

Run that against a bookstore's average sale, because the fixed $0.10 bites hardest on cheap books. On an $18 paperback: $18 times 0.026 is $0.47, plus $0.10, which is $0.57, an effective 3.16 percent. On a $60 art book: $1.56 plus $0.10 is $1.66, an effective 2.77 percent. At 200 sales a month averaging $18, that is $3,600 in sales and $113.60 in card fees. A used-paperback store with a $12 average sale pays an effective 3.43 percent.

Pros

  • $0 a month software stated on the pricing page for Essentials.
  • Transaction rate published rather than quoted, at 2.6% plus $0.10.
  • Bookstores named on the Genius page.

Cons

  • Zero bookstore features stated anywhere we read.
  • Currency not labeled on the page.
  • The fixed $0.10 pushes the effective rate above 3 percent on books under $20.

Pricing: From $0 a month plus 2.6% + $0.10 per transaction, for certain in-person card transactions. Currency not stated on the page. Sources: globalpayments.com/genius and globalpayments.com/pricing

KORONA POS: A bookstore menu link and a blog post, with no bookstore page we could read

KORONA has a Bookstore link in its menu and a blog post on how to start a bookstore. The bookstore page itself returned KORONA's general system page when we tried to read it. So: zero of our seven feature columns confirmed, and the one page that might have answered the question did not load as a bookstore page.

Pricing is per terminal per month, which changes the math for a store with two registers. Core is $59, Retail $79 and Plus $99 per terminal per month. One terminal on Retail is $948 a year. Two terminals on Retail is $158 a month, $1,896 a year. The Core to Retail step is $20 a month per terminal, $240 a year per terminal.

If you are shortlisting KORONA, price the per-terminal structure first and ask about the bookstore features, because we could not read them.

Pros

  • Three published tiers with stated prices: Core $59, Retail $79, Plus $99.
  • A bookstore blog post, which shows some attention to the category.
  • Core at $59 per terminal matches Hike's entry rate.

Cons

  • Its own bookstore page returned the general system page, so no features are confirmed.
  • Per-terminal pricing doubles on a second register, to $158 a month on Retail.
  • Pricing read is general KORONA pricing, not a bookstore plan.

Pricing: Core $59, Retail $79, Plus $99 per terminal per month. Source: koronapos.com/pricing

How to Choose the Right POS for Your Bookstore

  • Special orders and customer notification

    A POS with special order tracking has to link an ordered title to the customer who asked for it and notify them when it lands. Ask to see both halves. Hike and Lightspeed both state this. The other five do not. If a vendor cannot show it in a demo, you will run it on a notebook behind the counter.

  • ISBN-keyed inventory and barcode scanning

    Bookshop inventory management software lives or dies on ISBNs. On the ABA web platform, an item without a recognized ISBN is dropped from an inventory upload, so an ISBN-less record does not look untidy, it disappears. If you are shopping for a POS with ISBN barcode scanning, only Square has any claim here, and it comes from a customer story. A POS with book inventory tracking is the baseline in this trade. What separates these seven is whether the tracking knows about editions at all. See our barcode scanning page for how scanning setups differ. [INTERNAL LINK: /features/barcode-scanning/]

  • Used, signed and unique copies

    No POS page we read documents used-book trade-in, buyback or consignment, so there is no POS with used book inventory management here to compare. The ABA documents entering used, signed or unique copies as custom store books on its platform. Price that workflow as a manual process until a vendor shows you otherwise, and read our consignment tracking page if you take stock on consignment. [INTERNAL LINK: /features/consignment-tracking/]

  • Supplier catalogs, publisher ordering and reorder speed

    Reordering from a built-in supplier catalog is stated by one system, Lightspeed, and it is the closest thing here to a POS with book ordering management built in. Everyone else, ask whether a reorder means a CSV export, a browser tab at the wholesaler, or something inside the POS. The answer changes how long Monday takes. None of the seven pages describes sales reporting broken out by title, author or genre either, so if you need a POS with book sales reporting at that level, ask to see the report in the demo. Our inventory management page covers stock depth. [INTERNAL LINK: /features/inventory-management/]

  • Sales to schools and libraries, and resale certificates on stock you buy

    Exemption rules come from the state. Texas: a qualified nonprofit educational organization is not automatically tax exempt, can apply for state tax exemption, and gives you a properly completed exemption certificate to document the exempt sale; the Texas page does not mention libraries. Florida: governmental entities including school districts and municipal libraries are exempt, and political subdivisions obtain a Consumer's Certificate of Exemption, Form DR-14. Buying stock, Texas exempts items bought for resale when you accept a properly completed resale certificate, Form 01-339, kept in your books and records for four years; Florida's Annual Resale Certificate for Sales Tax lets you buy for resale tax free and carries criminal and civil penalties for fraudulent use. No system here states that it handles tax-exempt sales, so ask each one how a cashier records one and what the receipt and the report look like afterward.

  • Returns, gift returns, loyalty and your online channel

    Gift returns with instant inventory update are stated by Hike alone. One system, Shopify, states the online store and the counter on one system. No vendor page we read describes a loyalty scheme or gift card handling for this trade, so if you want a POS with customer loyalty programs for bookstores, or a POS with gift card support for bookshops, treat both as demo questions rather than features on this page. If you sell both online and in store, decide which matters more before you compare prices, because the cheapest entry figure here, $39 a month for Shopify Basic, is the one that answers online and says nothing about special orders. See our returns and exchanges page and our wider retail guide. [INTERNAL LINK: /features/returns-and-exchanges-management/] [INTERNAL LINK: /industries/retail-stores/]

Frequently Asked Questions About Bookstore POS

Do any of these systems handle used-book trade-ins?

None of the pages we read documents used-book trade-in, buyback or consignment. That includes both systems with a bookstore page. The ABA documents entering used, signed or unique copies as custom store books on its web platform, which is a platform route rather than a POS feature. Ask any vendor to demonstrate a trade-in before you count on it.

Can a bookstore POS look up a title by ISBN?

Square's customer story describes ISBN import, barcode scanning at checkout and purchase-order import. No vendor page we read states ISBN lookup as a product feature. Those are different things: importing a file of ISBNs is not the same as typing an ISBN and getting a title back, and no page here claims the second.

What does a bookstore POS cost per month?

Stated software floors run from $0 to $89 a month. Square Free and Global Payments Genius Essentials are $0, SpotOn Terminal $25, Shopify Basic $39, Square paid from $49, Hike and KORONA Core $59, and Lightspeed Basic $89 billed annually. Those are entry figures, not what a two-register store with a website pays. Shopify Basic plus POS Pro at one location is $128 a month, and KORONA Retail on two terminals is $158 a month.

Which system lists the most bookstore features?

Hike, with four of the seven features we compared: special orders with customer notification, a catalog by title, author, genre and edition, author events, and gift returns with instant inventory update. Lightspeed confirms three. The other five confirm one or none.

Do any of these handle tax-exempt sales to schools and libraries?

Not one of the seven states that it does. The rules come from the state. Texas requires a properly completed exemption certificate from a qualified nonprofit educational organization to document an exempt sale, and its page does not mention libraries. Florida's exempt governmental entities, school districts and municipal libraries among them, obtain a Consumer's Certificate of Exemption, Form DR-14. Ask each vendor how a cashier records an exempt sale and what the receipt and the report look like afterward. We checked Texas and Florida only.

Does my bookstore have to be PCI compliant?

The PCI Security Standards Council's FAQ says PCI DSS is intended for all entities involved in payment processing, including merchants, regardless of their size, and that the individual payment brands determine whether a small merchant must validate compliance. Contact your acquirer, your merchant bank, or your payment brand to find out what validation applies to you. Some states write it into law: Nevada NRS 603A.215 requires a data collector doing business in Nevada that accepts payment cards to comply with the current version of the standard. We did not check other states.

Why do so many cells in your table say Not stated?

Because 40 of the 49 feature cells are. Only two of these seven vendors publish a readable bookstore page. KORONA's own bookstore page returned its general system page, Clover's could not be read at all, and three systems name bookstores in passing with no features attached. We record what a vendor publishes. A blank page is a finding about the vendor, not a feature we are willing to assume.

How We Chose These POS Systems

We read each vendor's own pages for this industry and recorded only what they state, with the page and the check date against every price and feature. Where a vendor publishes no bookstore page, we say so rather than borrowing a retail claim and calling it a bookstore feature. That is why 40 of the 49 feature cells in our table read Not stated, and why three of the seven systems confirm none. Prices and rules were checked October 27, 2027 unless a cell gives another date, with Lightspeed's billing toggle read in a browser on October 16, 2027. KORONA's own bookstore page returned its general system page and Clover's could not be read at all. US federal rules plus the states named apply: we checked Texas and Florida on exempt sales and resale certificates and Nevada on its payment-card statute, and no others. We publish no star ratings, because no review on this site has produced one yet. Full method: [INTERNAL LINK: /how-we-review/]

Updated November 2027. Reviewed by CanComCo, Partner Experience Manager.

Our Verdict: Best Bookstore POS Overall

Lightspeed Retail takes it, because its bookstore page states the three jobs that cost a bookseller the most time: special orders with customer notification, reordering from built-in supplier catalogs, and events. Hike is the runner-up and the better buy for a store watching the monthly, with four stated bookstore features against Lightspeed's three and a $59 rate that runs $360 a year cheaper. Neither one says anything about used copies or ISBN import, so ask about both before you sign.

Get a POS

Tell us about your business and we will take it from there. Fields marked with an asterisk are required.

We use your details to respond to your request and keep form submissions for up to 24 months after our last interaction. We share your details with a vendor only when you give us permission. See our Privacy Policy.