Best Contactless NFC POS Systems (2027)

Eight POS systems that take a tap from a card, phone or watch. Four let you tap straight onto your own phone with no reader at all. This page shows which ones, what the reader costs if you want one, and who charges extra per tap.

Some links on this page may earn us a commission from the vendor, at no cost to you. Read how we review.

  • Best overall: Square. Tap on iPhone or Android with no reader, or buy one for $59. 2.6% + 15 cents per tap.
  • Cheapest reader: PayPal POS. First card reader $29, no monthly fee.
  • Best for Chase customers: Chase. 2.6% + 10 cents per transaction, no extra fee for tapping.
Illustration: customer paying by tapping a smartwatch against a staff member's phone

Top Contactless NFC POS Systems at a Glance

  • Cheapest reader

    PayPal POS

    The first card reader costs $29, the lowest on this page, with no monthly fee. Tap to Pay runs on phones only, and tipping is not supported through it.

    $0/mo. First reader $29.

  • Best for Chase business customers

    Chase

    The POS app costs nothing if you hold a Chase Business Complete Banking account, and tapping on a phone adds no fee: 2.6% + 10 cents per transaction. The reader is $99.

    App $0 with a Chase account. Reader $99.

Why Contactless NFC Payments Matter for Your POS

Customers expect to tap a card, a phone or a watch to pay. Without contactless, checkout slows down, and you cannot take a payment on a phone away from the counter at all.

Think about a pop-up shop that needs to sell for one weekend. Buying a card reader for two days of trading is hard to justify, and waiting for it to ship may not even be possible. Tap to Pay on the phone already in your pocket removes both problems. Or a coffee shop where a chip-only reader turns the morning rush into a queue: every chip insert costs seconds, and at 200 covers before 10 a.m. those seconds compound into a line out the door.

One distinction to carry through this page. Contactless covers two different setups. The first is a contactless reader, a separate device that takes the tap. The second is Tap to Pay, where the phone itself reads the card with no hardware at all. Most systems here do both, but not all of them, and the Android side is where support thins out.

What to Look for in a Contactless POS System

  • 1. Whether it accepts tap cards, phones and watches

    A contactless payment system should take all three, since a customer paying by watch does not want to hear that you only read cards. Check the card networks too: Shopify's Tap to Pay on Android takes Visa, Mastercard and Amex only.

  • 2. Tap to Pay on iPhone and Android with no extra hardware

    This is the dividing line. Square, Shopify POS and PayPal POS run on both platforms. Helcim's Tap to Pay is iPhone with Android unconfirmed, Clover is iPhone only, and Lightspeed's is iPhone only and will not run on iPads.

  • 3. Any extra fee per tap

    Most charge the standard rate for a tap. Helcim adds $0.10 per transaction for Tap to Pay. Over 1,000 taps a month that is $100, which can outweigh a cheaper processing rate. Do that arithmetic against your own volume before you choose a contactless payment processing provider.

  • 4. The cheapest contactless reader and what it costs

    If you want a dedicated reader, the prices run from $29 to $199: PayPal $29, Shopify $49 in the US, Square $59, Chase $99, Clover Go $199. Lightspeed does not publish reader prices. An NFC credit card reader at the low end costs less than a month of most software plans.

  • 5. Whether tap payments work offline

    If your connection drops mid-service, does the tap still go through? None of the eight published a clear offline-tap position we can cite here. Ask for it in writing before you sign.

  • 6. Which countries tap to pay covers

    Loyverse's Tap to Pay is US only. Helcim's is US merchants only. The rest have not published country lists we can cite, so confirm coverage for your market first.

Compare Contactless Payment POS Systems Side by Side

POS system Starting price Tap to Pay on iPhone Tap to Pay on Android Extra tap fee Cheapest reader Offline tap Countries
SquareBest overall $0/mo (Square Free) Yes, iPhone XS or newer on iOS 15.5+ Yes None. 2.6% + 15 cents per tap $59 Not stated Not stated
PayPal POS $0/mo Yes, phones only Yes, phones only None stated $29 first reader Not stated Not stated
Shopify POS Basic $39/mo Yes, not on iPad Yes, Visa, Mastercard and Amex only None stated $49 (US) Not stated Not stated
Chase App $0 with a Chase Business Complete Banking account Yes, on phone Not stated None. 2.6% + 10 cents per transaction $99 Not stated Not stated
Helcim $0 software Yes Not confirmed Adds 10 cents per transaction Not stated Not stated US merchants only
Loyverse Free Not stated Not stated 2.49% + 15 cents on credit via Loyverse Payments Readers sold out when checked Not stated US only
Clover Clover Go reader $199 Yes, source is a 2023 Clover blog post No Not stated $199 (Clover Go) Not stated Not stated
Lightspeed Retail (X-Series) From $89/mo billed annually Yes, via the Lightspeed Scanner app. Restaurant's is iPhone only, not on iPad Not stated Not stated Not published Not stated Not stated

Features and prices verified November 2026. Not stated means the vendor has not published the detail, not that the feature is missing.

Square: Best for taking taps on any phone at the standard rate

Square is the only system here that confirms Tap to Pay on iPhone and Android with no extra charge for the tap. You pay 2.6% + 15 cents, the same as any other card transaction, so the decision to go contactless costs you nothing beyond what you already pay.

If you want a dedicated device, the Square reader is $59, mid-range on this page. The $0 monthly plan means you can run contactless on a phone and add the reader later if the counter needs one.

One hardware condition on the iPhone side: Tap to Pay needs an iPhone XS or newer running iOS 15.5 or later. Check the oldest handset your staff carry, because an iPhone X will not work. That rules out a surprising number of phones still in daily use.

Pros

  • Tap to Pay on both iPhone and Android
  • No extra fee for tapping
  • $0 monthly plan

Cons

  • Needs iPhone XS or newer on iOS 15.5 or later
  • Offline tap behavior not published
  • Country coverage not published

Pricing: $0/mo (Square Free). Reader $59. 2.6% + 15 cents per tap.

PayPal POS: Best for the cheapest contactless reader

At $29 for the first card reader, PayPal undercuts every other reader on this page by $20 or more. Add the $0 monthly fee and this is the lowest-cost entry into contactless here, whether you tap on the phone or buy the reader.

Tap to Pay runs on phones only, not tablets. If your counter setup is a tablet in a stand, you need the reader rather than the Tap to Pay feature, which puts the $29 back into the equation. For a market stall or a one-person operation working from a phone, that limit does not bite.

The constraint that will matter to service businesses: tipping is not supported through Tap to Pay. A cafe or a salon taking tips at the point of sale should rule this out, or plan to take tips another way.

Pros

  • First reader $29, the cheapest here
  • $0 per month
  • Tap to Pay on iPhone and Android

Cons

  • No tipping through Tap to Pay
  • Phones only, not tablets
  • Extra tap fee not stated

Pricing: $0/mo. First card reader $29.

Shopify POS: Best for Shopify Payments merchants

Shopify's Tap and Chip reader costs $49 in the US, the second cheapest here, and Tap to Pay runs on both iPhone and Android. For a retailer already selling through Shopify, contactless at the counter and on the floor needs no new vendor relationship.

Three conditions shape whether this works for you. Tap to Pay is not available on iPad, so a counter built around an iPad needs the reader. On Android, Tap to Pay accepts Visa, Mastercard and Amex only, which leaves Discover and others to the reader. And the whole thing requires Shopify Payments, so if you process elsewhere, this is closed to you.

Read the Android card network limit carefully before you commit. If a meaningful share of your customers pay on a network outside those three, the $49 reader stops being optional.

Pros

  • $49 reader in the US
  • Tap to Pay on iPhone and Android
  • Built into the Shopify platform

Cons

  • Not available on iPad
  • Android Tap to Pay takes Visa, Mastercard and Amex only
  • Requires Shopify Payments

Pricing: Basic $39/mo. Tap and Chip reader $49 (US).

Chase: Best for businesses already banking with Chase

Chase charges 2.6% + 10 cents per transaction with no extra fee for tapping on a phone, the lowest per-transaction cent charge on this page. Against Square's 2.6% + 15 cents, you save a nickel a sale. At 2,000 sales a month that is $100.

The POS app costs $0, but it requires a Chase Business Complete Banking account. That is the real decision here: you are choosing a banking relationship, not just a POS. If you already hold the account, the app is free money. If you do not, weigh the account's own fees and requirements before counting the savings.

The reader is $99, which is more than Square, Shopify or PayPal charge. Android support for Tap to Pay is not stated, so if your staff carry Android phones, confirm that before you plan around tapping on the handset.

Pros

  • 2.6% + 10 cents, the lowest cent charge here
  • No extra fee for tapping on a phone
  • App free with a Chase business account

Cons

  • Requires a Chase Business Complete Banking account
  • $99 reader
  • Android Tap to Pay not stated

Pricing: POS app $0 with a Chase business account. Reader $99.

Helcim: Best for US iPhone merchants who want interchange-plus pricing

Helcim charges $0 for the software and prices on interchange-plus, which suits a merchant with enough volume to care about the underlying card costs rather than a flat headline rate.

The tap itself carries a cost. Tap to Pay adds $0.10 per transaction. At 500 taps a month that is $50, at 2,000 it is $200. Run that against what interchange-plus saves you on the same volume, because the two pull in opposite directions and only your own numbers settle it.

Two limits to confirm first. Tap to Pay is for US merchants only. Android support is not confirmed, so an Android-equipped team should get a written answer before committing. Helcim also has not published a reader price we can cite, so ask for that in the same conversation.

Pros

  • $0 software
  • Interchange-plus pricing
  • Tap to Pay on iPhone

Cons

  • Adds 10 cents per Tap to Pay transaction
  • US merchants only
  • Android support not confirmed

Pricing: $0 software. Tap to Pay adds 10 cents per transaction.

Loyverse: Best for free POS software with US card processing

Loyverse costs nothing for the software, and Loyverse Payments charges 2.49% + 15 cents on credit, a lower percentage than Square or Chase. For a US small business watching the rate line, that difference is worth the comparison.

Two things to settle before you plan around it. Tap to Pay is US only, so this is off the table outside the United States. And Loyverse card readers were sold out when checked, which means the hardware path may not be open at all right now. Confirm stock before you build a counter around it.

Loyverse has not published whether Tap to Pay runs on iPhone, Android, or both. For a feature page about contactless, that is a significant gap, and it is the first question to put to the vendor.

Pros

  • Free software
  • 2.49% + 15 cents on credit, the lowest percentage here
  • Suits US small businesses

Cons

  • Tap to Pay is US only
  • Card readers were sold out when checked
  • iPhone and Android support not stated

Pricing: free. Loyverse Payments 2.49% + 15 cents on credit.

Clover: Best for existing Clover Go users on iPhone

If you already run Clover Go, Tap to Pay on iPhone extends what you have without new hardware. The Clover Go reader itself is $199, the most expensive contactless payment terminal on this page by a wide margin.

Two caveats carry real weight. Tap to Pay is not available on Android at all, which rules out any team working from Android phones. And the source for the iPhone support is a 2023 Clover blog post, which is old enough that it should be reconfirmed with Clover before you rely on it.

For a business choosing contactless from scratch, the $199 reader and the missing Android support make this hard to recommend over Square or PayPal POS. For a business already inside Clover's ecosystem, it is the path of least resistance.

Pros

  • Tap to Pay on iPhone
  • Extends an existing Clover Go setup
  • No new hardware needed on iPhone

Cons

  • No Tap to Pay on Android
  • $199 reader, the most expensive here
  • iPhone support sourced to a 2023 blog post

Pricing: Clover Go reader $199.

Lightspeed Retail: Best for retailers taking taps through the Scanner app

Lightspeed Retail handles Tap to Pay through the Lightspeed Scanner app, which suits a retailer who wants staff taking payments on the shop floor rather than at a fixed till.

Pricing starts at $89 per month billed annually, the highest software cost on this page. That buys the full retail platform rather than a payments tool, so judge it against what the rest of the system does for you, not against the contactless feature alone.

Two gaps. Lightspeed does not publish reader prices, so budget the hardware through a sales conversation. And on the Restaurant side, Tap to Pay is iPhone only and does not work on iPads, which matters if your restaurant floor runs on iPads. Confirm which rule applies to the product you are buying.

Pros

  • Tap to Pay through the Lightspeed Scanner app
  • Suits floor-based selling
  • Full retail platform

Cons

  • From $89/mo billed annually, the highest here
  • Reader prices not published
  • Restaurant Tap to Pay is iPhone only, not on iPad

Pricing: from $89/mo billed annually.

Which Contactless POS Fits Your Situation

You run a pop-up shop and own no card reader

Go with Square or PayPal POS. Both take Tap to Pay on iPhone and Android with no extra fee for tapping, so you sell from the phone you already carry. Square needs an iPhone XS or newer, and PayPal does not support tipping through Tap to Pay. Pick on those two conditions. Either gives you a mobile NFC POS system with nothing to buy.

You run a coffee shop and want faster lines at the counter

Go with Square or Shopify POS. A dedicated contactless reader at the till beats tapping on a phone when a queue is forming, and the readers cost $59 from Square and $49 from Shopify in the US. Shopify's requires Shopify Payments, so Square is the simpler route if you process elsewhere.

You already bank with Chase

Go with Chase. Tapping on a phone carries no extra fee, and the rate is 2.6% + 10 cents per transaction, a nickel less per sale than Square. The POS app costs nothing with a Chase Business Complete Banking account. The reader is $99 if you want a POS terminal with tap to pay at the counter.

Frequently Asked Questions

Do I need to buy a card reader to take contactless payments?

Not with most of these. Square, Shopify POS, PayPal POS, Chase, Helcim, Clover and Lightspeed support Tap to Pay, where the phone itself reads the card. If you want a reader anyway, prices run from $29 with PayPal to $199 for Clover Go.

Does tapping cost more than a chip or swipe?

With most, no. Square charges 2.6% + 15 cents per tap, the same as its other card rates, and Chase charges 2.6% + 10 cents per transaction with no tap surcharge. Helcim is the exception: Tap to Pay adds $0.10 per transaction. PayPal, Shopify, Clover, Loyverse and Lightspeed have not published a separate tap fee.

Does Tap to Pay work on Android as well as iPhone?

On Square, Shopify POS and PayPal POS, yes. Clover does not support Tap to Pay on Android at all. Helcim's Android support is not confirmed, and Chase, Loyverse and Lightspeed have not stated it. If your staff carry Android phones, start with Square or PayPal POS.

What phone do I need?

Square's Tap to Pay on iPhone needs an iPhone XS or newer on iOS 15.5 or later. Shopify POS and Lightspeed Restaurant do not support Tap to Pay on iPad, and PayPal POS runs on phones only. Check your oldest device before you plan around any of this.

Can customers pay with a phone or a watch, not just a card?

A contactless reader or an NFC-enabled POS terminal reads a tap card, a phone wallet or a watch the same way, so a contactless card payment system covers all three. One exception to check: Shopify's Tap to Pay on Android accepts Visa, Mastercard and Amex only.

Do contactless payments work when the internet goes down?

None of the eight published a clear offline-tap position we can cite here. If your connection is unreliable, make this a written question for the vendor before you sign.

Is tap to pay available in my country?

Loyverse's Tap to Pay is US only and Helcim's is for US merchants only. The other six have not published country lists we can cite, so confirm coverage for your market before you commit.

Our Verdict on Contactless NFC in POS

Square is the pick for most businesses, because it confirms Tap to Pay on both iPhone and Android, charges nothing extra for the tap at 2.6% + 15 cents, and sells a $59 reader when you want one at the counter. PayPal POS is the runner-up on cost alone: a $29 first reader and no monthly fee, as long as you can live without tipping through Tap to Pay. If you already hold a Chase Business Complete Banking account, Chase at 2.6% + 10 cents beats both on the per-sale cent charge.

Get a POS

Tell us about your business and we will take it from there. Fields marked with an asterisk are required.

We use your details to respond to your request and keep form submissions for up to 24 months after our last interaction. We share your details with a vendor only when you give us permission. See our Privacy Policy.