Best Free POS Systems (2027)

Seven systems with a $0 software plan. None of them are actually free: the money moves to card rates, hardware, or a two-year term. This page shows where each one takes it, and what that costs at your sales volume.

Some links on this page may earn us a commission from the vendor, at no cost to you. Read how we review.

  • Best overall: Square. $0 per month, no contract, no hardware purchase, at 2.6% + 15 cents in person.
  • Lowest card rate: PayPal POS. 2.29% + $0.09 card present, $0 per month.
  • Most free features: Loyverse. Free stock tools, loyalty and a kitchen display screen.
Illustration: small business owner at a counter checking a receipt against a phone

Top Free POS Systems at a Glance

  • Lowest card rate

    PayPal POS

    At 2.29% + $0.09 card present, this is the cheapest per-swipe rate on the page. The catch: it works only with PayPal payments, and keyed-in cards jump to 3.49% + $0.09.

    $0/mo. 2.29% + $0.09 card present.

  • Most free features

    Loyverse

    Free stock tools, loyalty and a kitchen display screen, which the others charge for or omit. Reports only go back 31 days, and employee management costs extra.

    Free. Add-ons from $5/mo per store.

Why Free POS Pricing Deserves a Second Look

Monthly software fees add up for a small business, so a $0 plan looks like an easy win. But free POS plans make their money elsewhere: card rates, hardware, or long contracts. Compare only the monthly fee and a free plan can cost you more than a paid one.

Picture a new cafe that picks a $0 plan tied to a two-year term and a higher card rate. On $20,000 a month in card sales, a rate that is 0.5% higher costs $100 a month, $2,400 across the term. That is more than most paid plans charge for the same two years, and the term means you cannot leave when you notice. Or the opposite case: a market vendor paying $69 a month for features it never opens, when a free plan covers everything it actually does.

The useful question is not whether it is free. It is where the vendor makes its money, and how much that will be at your volume. Three places to look: the card rate on every sale, the hardware you have to buy up front, and the term you sign. A free POS system with no monthly fee that charges 2.79% is not cheaper than a $69 plan at 2.45% once you cross a certain volume. Work out where your own crossover sits before you sign anything.

What to Look for in a Free POS System

  • 1. What the $0 plan includes and what needs a paid upgrade

    Free plans are trimmed, and the trimming differs. Square Free leaves out kitchen display, kiosk software and text message marketing. Loyverse gives you stock tools, loyalty and a kitchen screen free, but caps reports at 31 days and charges for employee management. List the three features you cannot run without, then check each free tier against that list. A free POS system with inventory management is common. A free kitchen display is not.

  • 2. The card processing rate on the free plan

    This is where most free plans earn. The spread here is wide: PayPal POS at 2.29% + $0.09, Global Payments Genius at 2.6% + $0.10, Square at 2.6% + 15 cents, SpotOn All-In at 2.79% + $0.20. Helcim prices differently at interchange plus 0.40% + 8 cents. On $20,000 a month, the gap between 2.29% and 2.79% is $100 a month. Any free POS system with payment processing bundled in is charging you through that rate.

  • 3. The contract term and cancellation fees

    A $0 plan on a two-year term is not free, it is deferred. SpotOn's All-In needs two years. Toast is not month-to-month, and leaving Pay-as-you-go early costs $150 for every month left in the term. Square and PayPal POS have no contract. Ask for the termination fee in writing before you sign, not after.

  • 4. The hardware cost, up front or over time

    Some free plans still need hardware. Helcim's card reader is $199 and its Smart Terminal $349, or $32 a month for a year, which totals $384. Toast's Starter Kit and SpotOn's All-In remove the up-front hardware cost, which is why both attach a term.

  • 5. Processing minimums or volume requirements

    SpotOn's All-In carries processing minimums alongside its two-year term. If your sales drop below the minimum, you may owe the difference. Ask what the minimum is in dollars and what happens in a slow month.

  • 6. The cost to add locations, devices or staff

    A free plan for one till can get expensive at three. Loyverse add-ons start at $5 a month per store, and employee management is $25 a month per store, so three locations with staff management costs $75 a month. Price your second location before you commit to the first.

Compare Free POS Software Side by Side

Every system here offers a $0 software plan. The columns that decide the real cost are the card rate, the contract term and the hardware.

POS system $0 option Card rate on free plan Contract term Hardware cost Requirements Paid upgrade price Best for
SquareBest overall Yes, Square Free 2.6% + 15 cents in person None No purchase needed to start None stated Not stated New businesses wanting no contract and no hardware purchase
PayPal POS Yes 2.29% + $0.09 card present. Keyed 3.49% + $0.09 None stated Not stated PayPal payments only Not stated Sellers already using PayPal
Loyverse Yes, free plan Not stated None stated Not stated None stated Add-ons from $5/mo per store. Employee management $25/mo per store Small shops and cafes wanting free stock, loyalty and KDS
Helcim Yes, $0 software Interchange + 0.40% + 8 cents in person None stated Card reader $199. Smart Terminal $349, or $32/mo for 12 months None stated Not stated Businesses wanting interchange-plus and no software fee
Global Payments Genius Yes, Essentials $0/mo 2.6% + $0.10 in person Varies. Termination fees vary Not stated Final pricing depends on underwriting Not stated Restaurants and retailers wanting a $0 tier from a large processor
Toast Yes, $0 Starter Kit Not published for the Starter Kit Not month-to-month. Early exit from Pay-as-you-go costs $150 per remaining month $0 up front on the Starter Kit Eligible new customers only Not stated New single-location restaurants avoiding up-front hardware cost
SpotOn Yes, All-In $0 per station 2.79% + $0.20 card present 2 years $0 per station Processing minimums apply POS Essentials at 2.45% + $0.15 Restaurants preferring a higher card rate to buying hardware

Features, rates and prices verified November 2026. Not stated means the vendor has not published the detail, not that it does not apply.

Square: Best for starting with no contract and no hardware purchase

Square Free costs $0 a month with no contract and nothing to buy before your first sale. For a new business that does not yet know its own volume, that combination removes every commitment: if it does not work, you stop using it.

The rate is 2.6% + 15 cents in person, mid-range on this page. On $10,000 a month in card sales that is $260 in percentage fees, plus 15 cents on each of 400 transactions, which is $60, landing at $320. Compare that against PayPal's 2.29% + $0.09 on the same volume: $229 plus $36, which is $265. Square costs about $55 a month more at that level, and that difference buys you freedom from PayPal's payment lock-in.

Three features sit outside the free plan: kitchen display, kiosk software and text message marketing. A cafe that wants a kitchen screen should look at Loyverse, where it is free. For a market stall or a service business, none of the three matter.

Pros

  • No monthly fee
  • No contract
  • No hardware purchase to start

Cons

  • No kitchen display in the free plan
  • No kiosk software
  • No text message marketing

Pricing: $0/mo (Square Free). 2.6% + 15 cents in person.

PayPal POS: Best for the lowest card rate on a $0 plan

At 2.29% + $0.09 card present, PayPal POS has the cheapest per-swipe rate here, and it carries no monthly fee. On $20,000 a month in card sales that is $458 in percentage fees, against $520 at Square's 2.6%, a saving of $62 a month before per-transaction charges.

Two things narrow that advantage. The system works only with PayPal payments, so you are choosing a processor as well as a POS, with no option to shop the rate later. And keyed-in cards cost 3.49% + $0.09, which is 1.2 percentage points above the card-present rate. If you take phone orders or type in card numbers, model your mix carefully: a business that keys 30% of sales loses most of the advantage.

For a seller already inside PayPal taking card-present payments, this is the cheapest route on the page. For anyone else, the lock-in deserves weighing against roughly $60 a month.

Pros

  • 2.29% + $0.09 card present, the lowest here
  • $0 monthly fee
  • Fits businesses already on PayPal

Cons

  • PayPal payments only
  • Keyed-in cards cost 3.49% + $0.09
  • Contract term not stated

Pricing: $0/mo. 2.29% + $0.09 card present.

Loyverse: Best for the most free features on a $0 plan

Loyverse gives away what others charge for. Stock tools, loyalty and a kitchen display screen all sit in the free plan. Square charges for a kitchen display or omits it, and most free plans treat loyalty as an upgrade. For a small cafe running a $0 budget and wanting a kitchen screen, this is the only system here that says yes.

The limit that will bite is reporting. The free plan shows only 31 days of sales history. A month is enough to run the week, not enough to compare this November with last November or to spot a seasonal pattern. If you need year-over-year numbers, that is an upgrade.

Employee management and advanced inventory are also paid. Add-ons start at $5 a month per store, with employee management at $25 a month per store. A three-location operation wanting staff management pays $75 a month, which is no longer a free POS system for small business, so price your real configuration rather than the headline.

Pros

  • Free stock tools, loyalty and kitchen display
  • $0 base plan
  • Add-ons priced from $5/mo per store

Cons

  • Reports show only 31 days
  • Employee management costs $25/mo per store
  • Advanced inventory is a paid add-on

Pricing: free. Add-ons from $5/mo per store. Employee management $25/mo per store.

Helcim: Best for interchange-plus pricing with no software fee

Helcim charges $0 for software and prices on interchange plus 0.40% + 8 cents in person. That structure differs from everything else here. Instead of one flat rate, you pay the card networks' actual cost plus a fixed markup, which means your rate moves with your card mix rather than sitting at a single number.

Interchange-plus suits higher volume. The markup is small and transparent, but the underlying interchange varies by card, so a business with a lot of rewards-card customers pays more than one taking mostly debit. At low volume the flat rates from Square or PayPal are easier to budget and often cheaper. At higher volume, interchange-plus usually wins.

The hardware is not free: the card reader is $199 and the Smart Terminal $349, or $32 a month for 12 months, which totals $384. Buying the terminal outright saves $35. Factor $199 or $349 into your first-month cost, because the $0 software line does not cover it.

Pros

  • $0 software fee
  • Transparent interchange-plus markup at 0.40% + 8 cents
  • No flat-rate markup hiding in the middle

Cons

  • Card reader $199, Smart Terminal $349
  • Financing the terminal costs $35 more
  • Interchange-plus is harder to forecast than a flat rate

Pricing: $0 software. Interchange + 0.40% + 8 cents in person. Card reader $199. Smart Terminal $349, or $32/mo for 12 months.

Global Payments Genius: Best for a $0 tier from a large processor

Genius Essentials costs $0 a month at 2.6% + $0.10 in person, a rate a hair under Square's on the per-transaction cent charge. For a restaurant or retailer that wants a $0 software tier backed by a large processor rather than a startup, that is the pitch.

Two unknowns make this harder to compare than the others. Contract terms and termination fees vary, so there is no single number to quote, and final pricing depends on underwriting, meaning the rate you are quoted may not be the rate you get. Both facts come from the vendor itself.

Treat the 2.6% + $0.10 as an opening position rather than a price. Get the term, the termination fee and the final rate in writing after underwriting, then compare that against Square's published, non-negotiable numbers. If the final package beats Square, take it. If it only matches, Square's no-contract position is worth more.

Pros

  • $0 software tier
  • 2.6% + $0.10 in person
  • Backed by a large processor

Cons

  • Contract terms vary
  • Termination fees vary
  • Final pricing depends on underwriting

Pricing: Essentials $0/mo. 2.6% + $0.10 in person.

Toast: Best for a new restaurant that cannot buy hardware up front

Toast's $0 Starter Kit gives eligible new customers restaurant hardware with nothing up front. For a single-location restaurant opening on a tight budget, that removes the largest line in the technology quote, which can run into four figures.

The term is the trade. Toast is not month-to-month. Leaving the Pay-as-you-go plan early costs $150 for every month left in the term. On a two-year agreement with 18 months remaining, that is $2,700 to walk away. Before you take free hardware, price what leaving would cost at the point you are most likely to want to leave, which is usually the first year.

The card rate for the Starter Kit is not published. On a page about cost, that is the number that decides everything, and its absence means you cannot compare Toast against Square or PayPal here. Get the rate in writing before you sign, and run it against your projected card volume.

Pros

  • $0 up-front hardware on the Starter Kit
  • Built for restaurants
  • Suits a single new location

Cons

  • Not month-to-month
  • Early exit costs $150 per remaining month
  • Starter Kit card rate not published

Pricing: $0/mo Starter Kit for eligible new customers.

SpotOn: Best for trading a higher card rate for free hardware

SpotOn's All-In plan is $0 per station, so the hardware arrives at no up-front cost. The card rate is 2.79% + $0.20 card present, the highest on this page. That is the deal stated plainly: you pay for the hardware through every sale instead of once at the start.

SpotOn publishes the alternative, which makes the math unusually clear. POS Essentials runs 2.45% + $0.15. The difference is 0.34% plus a nickel per transaction. On $30,000 a month that is $102 in percentage alone, which is $1,224 a year and $2,448 across the two-year All-In term, plus the per-transaction gap on top. Weigh that against what the hardware would have cost outright.

Two further conditions: All-In needs a two-year term, and processing minimums apply. If your sales fall below the minimum, ask what you owe. A seasonal business should take that question seriously before signing for two years.

Pros

  • $0 per station, no up-front hardware cost
  • Alternative pricing published, so the trade is visible
  • Suits restaurants avoiding capital spend

Cons

  • 2.79% + $0.20, the highest rate here
  • Two-year term
  • Processing minimums apply

Pricing: All-In $0 per station. 2.79% + $0.20 card present. POS Essentials 2.45% + $0.15.

Which Free POS Fits Your Situation

You run a market stall or pop-up with low monthly sales

Go with Square or PayPal POS. Neither charges a monthly fee or ties you to a contract. PayPal's card-present rate is 2.29% + $0.09 and Square Free's is 2.6% + 15 cents, so PayPal is cheaper per sale if you can work inside PayPal payments. At low volume the difference is small, so pick on flexibility rather than rate. A free POS app on a phone you already own is the whole setup.

You run a small cafe and want loyalty plus a kitchen screen

Go with Loyverse. Loyalty and the kitchen display are both free, which no other system here offers on a $0 plan. Employee management is $25 a month per store if you need it later. Remember the free reports only reach back 31 days.

You are opening a restaurant and cannot buy hardware up front

Go with Toast (Starter Kit) or SpotOn (All-In). Both remove the up-front hardware cost, and both attach a term in exchange. SpotOn All-In needs two years at 2.79% + $0.20. Toast charges $150 for every month left if you leave early, and has not published the Starter Kit card rate. Get both numbers in writing before choosing.

Frequently Asked Questions

Is a free POS system actually free?

The software is. The business model is not. Free plans recover the cost through card processing rates, hardware you buy separately, or a contract term. Square and PayPal POS take it in the card rate with no contract. SpotOn and Toast give you hardware and take a two-year commitment. Helcim gives free software and sells the hardware at $199 or $349.

What card rate should I expect on a free plan?

Among the systems here: PayPal POS 2.29% + $0.09, Global Payments Genius 2.6% + $0.10, Square 2.6% + 15 cents, SpotOn All-In 2.79% + $0.20. Helcim uses interchange plus 0.40% + 8 cents instead of a flat rate. Loyverse and Toast's Starter Kit have not published a rate we can cite.

Does a free POS lock me into a contract?

Square has no contract. SpotOn's All-In requires two years with processing minimums. Toast is not month-to-month and charges $150 for each month left in the term if you leave Pay-as-you-go early. Global Payments Genius terms vary. PayPal, Loyverse and Helcim have not published terms we can cite, so ask.

Do I still have to buy hardware?

Sometimes. Square needs no hardware purchase to start. Helcim sells a $199 card reader and a $349 Smart Terminal, or $32 a month for a year. Toast's Starter Kit and SpotOn's All-In supply hardware at $0 up front, with a term attached. Loyverse, PayPal and Genius have not published hardware costs we can cite.

What features get cut from the free plan?

It varies. Square Free leaves out kitchen display, kiosk software and text message marketing. Loyverse limits reports to 31 days and charges for employee management and advanced inventory. Write down the three features you cannot operate without and check each free tier against them before you compare rates.

Is there free POS software for retail stores and restaurants, or do they differ?

Both exist here. For free POS software for retail stores, Square and Helcim suit a counter. For free restaurant POS software, Loyverse gives you a kitchen display at no cost, while Toast and SpotOn supply restaurant hardware in exchange for a term. Open-source free POS software is a separate category that this page does not cover, since none of the seven systems here is open source. A free cloud-based POS system, where the software runs in the vendor's cloud rather than on your machine, describes every system on this page.

When does a paid plan become cheaper than a free one?

When the card rate difference outgrows the monthly fee. SpotOn publishes both sides, so the math is visible: All-In at 2.79% against POS Essentials at 2.45% is a gap of 0.34%, which on $30,000 a month is $102. If a paid plan costs less per month than the rate gap, the paid plan is cheaper. Run that calculation at your own volume before you choose.

Our Verdict on Free POS Systems

Square is the pick for most businesses starting out, because $0 a month with no contract and no hardware purchase means a wrong choice costs you nothing but time, and 2.6% + 15 cents is a fair middle rate. PayPal POS is the runner-up and the cheaper option at 2.29% + $0.09 if you can live inside PayPal payments and you do not key in many cards. If you need a kitchen display without paying for it, Loyverse is the only free plan here that includes one. Treat Toast and SpotOn as hardware financing rather than free software: both are reasonable deals, but the term and the rate are where you pay.

Get a POS

Tell us about your business and we will take it from there. Fields marked with an asterisk are required.

We use your details to respond to your request and keep form submissions for up to 24 months after our last interaction. We share your details with a vendor only when you give us permission. See our Privacy Policy.