Best Offline Capable POS Systems (2027)

Seven systems that keep selling when the internet drops. The differences that matter are not whether offline mode exists, but how long it lasts, whether it takes cards or only cash, and who pays when an offline payment declines later. That last one is usually you.

Some links on this page may earn us a commission from the vendor, at no cost to you. Read how we review.

  • Longest offline window: Clover. Up to 7 days of offline card payments on Mini and Flex, with limits you set.
  • Most control over exposure: Square. Cap each offline payment anywhere from $1 to $50,000. $0 per month.
  • Best for restaurants: Toast. Cards keep working through an outage, from $0 on the Starter Kit.
Illustration: staff member serving a customer at a counter during a network outage

Top Offline Capable POS Systems at a Glance

  • Most control over exposure

    Square

    Set a cap on each offline payment anywhere between $1 and $50,000, which is the finest-grained control on this page. You are responsible for declined or expired offline payments.

    $0/mo (Square Free)

  • Best for restaurants

    Toast

    Card payments keep working through an outage, which is the difference between a Friday night of service and a cash-only night. Declined offline payments cannot be re-run.

    $0/mo Starter Kit, or $69/mo Point of Sale.

Why Offline Mode Matters for Your POS

When the internet drops, a cloud POS without offline mode can stop taking payments. Lines back up and sales get written down by hand, then typed in again later with whatever errors that introduces.

Two concrete failures. A food truck loses signal at an outdoor market and can only take cash, which at a card-heavy event means turning away most of the queue. A restaurant's Wi-Fi fails on a Friday night and card payments stop at every terminal at once, mid-service, with a full room.

Here is the part most buyers miss, and it is the reason this page exists. Offline mode does not mean the payment is approved. When you take a card offline, the terminal stores it and sends it when the connection returns. If the card declines then, or has expired, or the customer disputes it, the money does not arrive and you carry that loss. Square and Toast both state this directly. Toast adds that declined offline payments cannot be re-run at all. So the real question is not whether a POS works offline. It is how much money you are willing to put at risk during an outage, and which system lets you set that number.

What to Look for in an Offline POS System

  • 1. Whether it keeps ringing up sales when the connection drops

    This is the floor, and all seven clear it. Lightspeed Restaurant keeps orders, printing and cash running offline. SpotOn saves orders and card payments on the device. Any POS system that works offline should clear this bar, so the differences start at the next criterion.

  • 2. Whether it accepts card payments offline, or only cash

    Taking orders offline is not the same as getting paid. All seven here store card payments offline in some form, but the exclusions matter: Square blocks Tap to Pay, manual entry, gift cards and Kiosk while offline. Shopify POS blocks swipe, Tap to Pay and manual entry. Lightspeed Restaurant's integrated card terminals stop working offline unless they have cellular data. A POS system with offline payments is not the same as one that keeps every payment method available.

  • 3. The limits on offline card payments, in time and in money

    Every system caps the exposure somehow. Clover allows up to 7 days with per-payment and total limits you set. TouchBistro requires upload within 5 days. Toast recommends reconnecting within 24 hours, and Shopify POS says ideally within 24 hours. Square caps each payment between $1 and $50,000. Know your number before the outage, not during it.

  • 4. Who carries the risk if an offline card payment later declines

    Read this clause before you enable the feature. Square states you are responsible for declined or expired offline payments. Toast states you are responsible for declined, expired or disputed ones, and that declined payments cannot be re-run. Clover warns that cards cannot be checked for validity or funds while offline. The other three have not published a liability position in this brief, so ask.

  • 5. Automatic sync when the connection returns

    A POS system that syncs when online should upload stored transactions without anyone remembering to press a button. TouchBistro requires upload within 5 days, which implies an action rather than a background process. SpotOn carries a sharper warning: turning off devices or clearing caches can lose offline orders entirely.

  • 6. Whether kitchen screens and printers keep working offline

    For a restaurant, a POS that takes the order but cannot send it to the kitchen has solved nothing. Lightspeed Restaurant states that orders, printing and cash keep running offline. The other six have not published a position on kitchen screens and printers in this brief, which is worth a direct question if you run a kitchen.

Compare Offline POS Software Side by Side

The two columns that cost money are Offline time limit and Decline risk disclosed. An offline card payment is stored, not approved. If it declines on reconnection, the merchant usually absorbs it.

POS system Starting price Offline sales Offline card payments Offline time limit Offline amount limit Decline risk disclosed Auto-sync on reconnect
CloverLongest offline window Retail Basic: $349 hardware, no software fee shown Yes Yes, Mini and Flex Up to 7 days Per-payment and total limits you set Cards cannot be checked for validity or funds offline Not stated
Square $0/mo (Square Free) Yes Yes. No Tap to Pay, manual entry, gift cards or Kiosk Not stated $1 to $50,000 per payment, set by you Yes. You are responsible for declined or expired payments Not stated
Toast $0/mo Starter Kit, or $69/mo Point of Sale Yes Yes Reconnect within 24 hours recommended Not stated Yes. You are responsible for declined, expired or disputed payments. Declines cannot be re-run Not stated
TouchBistro From $69/mo Yes Yes, store-and-forward Upload stored transactions within 5 days Not stated Not stated Not stated. Reports unavailable while offline
Shopify POS From $39/mo (Basic, monthly) Yes Yes. No swipe, Tap to Pay or manual entry Reconnect ideally within 24 hours Per-order and daily limits Not stated Not stated
SpotOn From $55 per station per month Yes, saved on the device Yes, saved on the device Not stated Not stated Not stated Not stated. Turning off devices or clearing caches can lose offline orders
Lightspeed Restaurant From $69/mo (Starter) Yes. Orders, printing and cash keep running Integrated terminals stop without cellular data Not stated Not stated Not stated Not stated

Features and prices verified November 2026. Not stated means the vendor has not published the detail, not that the feature is missing.

Clover: Best for the longest offline window

Clover Mini and Flex can be configured to take offline payments for up to 7 days, which is the longest window on this page by a wide margin. Against Toast's recommended 24 hours and TouchBistro's 5 days, that is the option for a location where an outage might last days rather than hours.

You also set the limits yourself: a cap per payment and a cap on the total stored while offline. That combination, long window plus two ceilings, lets a rural store stay open through a multi-day outage with a known maximum exposure rather than an open-ended one.

The warning is blunt and it scales with the window. Cards cannot be checked for validity or for funds while offline. Over 7 days of stored payments that is a meaningful amount of unverified card volume, so set the total cap at a number you could absorb losing. Retail Basic lists $349 in hardware with no software fee shown.

Pros

  • Up to 7 days offline, the longest here
  • Per-payment and total limits you set
  • Works on Mini and Flex

Cons

  • Cards cannot be checked for validity or funds offline
  • Auto-sync behavior not stated
  • $349 hardware

Pricing: Retail Basic, $349 hardware, no software fee shown.

Square: Best for setting exactly how much you are willing to risk

Square lets you cap each offline payment anywhere between $1 and $50,000. That range is the finest-grained control on this page, and it turns an abstract risk into a number you choose. A food truck can set $50 and barely expose itself. A furniture store can set $5,000 and keep selling.

Square states the liability plainly: you are responsible for declined or expired offline payments. The honesty is useful. Read the cap as the most you are prepared to lose on any one sale during an outage, because that is what it is.

Four things stop working offline: Tap to Pay, manual card entry, gift cards and Kiosk. For a business whose main method is Tap to Pay on a phone, that exclusion removes the payment method precisely when you need it. Check which of the four you depend on before relying on Square's offline mode. The plan itself is $0 per month.

Pros

  • Offline cap from $1 to $50,000, set by you
  • $0 per month
  • Liability stated plainly

Cons

  • No Tap to Pay offline
  • No manual entry, gift cards or Kiosk offline
  • You are responsible for declined or expired payments

Pricing: $0/mo (Square Free).

Toast: Best for restaurants that cannot stop taking cards mid-service

Toast keeps card payments working through an outage, which for a restaurant is the whole point. A Friday night with a full room and no card processing is not a degraded service, it is a cash-only service with most of the room unable to pay.

Toast is the most explicit about the risk on this page, and it is the harshest. You are responsible for declined, expired or disputed offline payments, and declined offline payments cannot be re-run. Disputed is the word to notice: the other vendors mention declines and expiry, Toast includes chargebacks. And cannot be re-run means there is no second attempt, so a decline is simply a loss.

Toast recommends reconnecting within 24 hours. Combined with the no-re-run rule, that argues for treating offline mode as an emergency bridge rather than an operating mode. Entry is $0 on the Starter Kit or $69 per month for Point of Sale.

Pros

  • Card payments keep working through outages
  • Built for restaurant service
  • $0 entry on the Starter Kit

Cons

  • You are responsible for declined, expired or disputed payments
  • Declined offline payments cannot be re-run
  • Reconnect within 24 hours recommended

Pricing: $0/mo (Starter Kit) or $69/mo (Point of Sale).

TouchBistro: Best for iPad restaurants needing a multi-day buffer

TouchBistro uses store-and-forward for card payments, holding transactions on the iPad and sending them when the connection returns. The upload window is 5 days, second only to Clover's 7 and five times Toast's recommended 24 hours.

That 5-day window suits a restaurant whose outages tend to be long rather than frequent. The phrase upload stored transactions within 5 days implies a deliberate action rather than a background sync, so build it into your closing checklist rather than assuming it happens on its own.

Reports are unavailable while offline. During a Saturday outage you keep serving but you cannot see covers, sales or labor numbers until you reconnect. For a manager running the floor on live numbers, that is a real gap, though a smaller one than not taking payment at all. Pricing starts at $69 per month.

Pros

  • 5-day upload window, second longest here
  • Store-and-forward card payments
  • Built for iPad restaurants

Cons

  • Reports unavailable while offline
  • Upload appears to need a deliberate action
  • Decline liability not stated

Pricing: from $69/mo.

Shopify POS: Best for retailers who want two layers of offline limits

Shopify POS applies both a per-order limit and a daily limit offline, so your exposure is capped twice: once on any single sale and once on the whole outage. For a retailer, that daily ceiling is the more useful of the two, because it bounds the entire day rather than one transaction.

Three payment methods stop working offline: swipe, Tap to Pay and manual entry. That is a wider exclusion than Square's and it removes swipe, which some older cards still need. Confirm what remains available on your hardware before you depend on it.

Shopify advises reconnecting ideally within 24 hours, matching Toast and well short of TouchBistro and Clover. For a store with brief, occasional outages that is fine. For one with multi-day connectivity problems, Clover's 7 days is the better architecture. Basic is $39 per month billed monthly.

Pros

  • Per-order and daily offline limits
  • $39/mo on Basic
  • Ties into the Shopify platform

Cons

  • No swipe, Tap to Pay or manual entry offline
  • Reconnect ideally within 24 hours
  • Decline liability not stated

Pricing: from $39/mo (Basic, monthly).

SpotOn: Best for keeping orders and payments on the device

SpotOn saves both orders and card payments on the device during an outage, so the terminal keeps functioning as a self-contained till rather than a dead screen. Pricing is $55 per station per month, so the cost follows your terminal count.

One caveat on this page deserves more attention than any other: turning off devices or clearing caches can lose offline orders. The brief attributes that to SpotOn's own blog. Every other risk here is financial and bounded. This one is operational and silent, because a staff member rebooting a frozen terminal during an outage could delete the evening's unsynced orders without knowing.

If you shortlist SpotOn, make do not power cycle terminals during an outage an explicit staff instruction, and get the vendor's current position in writing. No time limit, amount limit or decline liability is stated in this brief, so those are three more questions to ask.

Pros

  • Orders and card payments saved on the device
  • Per-station pricing suits small footprints
  • Terminal keeps working standalone

Cons

  • Turning off devices or clearing caches can lose offline orders
  • No stated time or amount limits
  • Decline liability not stated

Pricing: from $55 per station per month.

Lightspeed Restaurant: Best for keeping orders, printing and cash running

Lightspeed Restaurant is the only system here that explicitly names printing among what keeps working offline. Orders, printing and cash all keep running, which for a kitchen matters: an order that reaches the pass on paper is an order that gets cooked.

The limitation sits on the payment side and it is specific. Integrated card terminals without cellular data stop working offline. So the kitchen keeps cooking and the till keeps taking cash, but if your card terminals rely on the same Wi-Fi that just failed, card payment stops. Terminals with their own cellular connection are the workaround, which is a hardware decision to make before the outage.

Read this as strong on operations and conditional on payments, the reverse of Toast's profile. If your main offline worry is service continuity rather than card revenue, it fits. Starter is $69 per month.

Pros

  • Orders, printing and cash keep running offline
  • Printing explicitly covered, unique here
  • Built for restaurant floors

Cons

  • Integrated card terminals stop without cellular data
  • No stated time or amount limits
  • Decline liability not stated

Pricing: from $69/mo (Starter).

Which Offline POS Fits Your Situation

You run a food truck at outdoor markets with weak signal

Go with Square or Shopify POS. Both take card payments offline on supported devices. Square lets you cap each offline payment between $1 and $50,000, so set it near your average ticket and your exposure stays small. Check the exclusions: Square blocks Tap to Pay offline, Shopify blocks swipe, Tap to Pay and manual entry. For an offline POS for small business use at markets, the cap matters more than the feature list.

You run a busy restaurant worried about weekend Wi-Fi outages

Go with Toast or TouchBistro. Both keep taking orders and card payments offline. Toast recommends reconnecting within 24 hours, TouchBistro within 5 days. Toast is blunter about the risk: you carry declined, expired or disputed payments, and declines cannot be re-run. TouchBistro gives you more time but hides your reports until you reconnect. Either is a working offline restaurant POS system; they differ on how long the buffer lasts.

You run a store in a rural area with unreliable internet

Go with Clover. Mini and Flex can be set to take offline payments for up to 7 days, with per-payment and total limits you choose. That is the only option here built for an outage measured in days. Set the total cap at an amount you could absorb, because cards cannot be checked for validity or funds while offline. For an offline retail POS system in a low-connectivity area, the 7-day window is the deciding feature.

Frequently Asked Questions

Does offline mode mean the card payment is approved?

No, and this is the most important thing on this page. The terminal stores the payment and submits it when the connection returns. If the card declines then, or has expired, or the customer disputes it, you generally absorb the loss. Square states you are responsible for declined or expired offline payments. Toast states you are responsible for declined, expired or disputed ones and that declines cannot be re-run.

How long can a POS stay offline?

The published windows vary widely. Clover allows up to 7 days on Mini and Flex. TouchBistro requires upload within 5 days. Toast recommends reconnecting within 24 hours and Shopify POS says ideally within 24 hours. Square, SpotOn and Lightspeed Restaurant have not published a time limit in this brief. Any POS software without internet access has a ceiling somewhere, so find yours before you need it.

Can I limit how much I take offline?

With three of them, yes. Square caps each offline payment at a figure you set between $1 and $50,000. Shopify POS applies both a per-order and a daily limit. Clover lets you set a per-payment cap and a total cap. The other four have not published amount limits here. Setting a cap is the simplest way to bound your exposure.

Which payment methods stop working offline?

Square blocks Tap to Pay, manual entry, gift cards and Kiosk. Shopify POS blocks swipe, Tap to Pay and manual entry. Lightspeed Restaurant's integrated card terminals stop without cellular data. If your busiest payment method is on one of those lists, offline mode will not cover you the way you expect.

Do kitchen screens and printers keep working offline?

Lightspeed Restaurant states that orders, printing and cash keep running offline. The other six have not published a position on kitchen screens or printers in this brief. For a restaurant, a POS that takes the order but cannot send it to the kitchen has solved only half the problem, so ask this directly.

Does everything sync automatically when the connection returns?

Treat this as unconfirmed. TouchBistro requires stored transactions to be uploaded within 5 days, which suggests an action rather than a background process. SpotOn warns that turning off devices or clearing caches can lose offline orders. No vendor in this brief has published a clear auto-sync guarantee, so ask before you rely on it.

Should I leave offline mode switched on all the time?

Weigh it against the liability. Offline mode keeps revenue coming during an outage, and it also means accepting cards you cannot verify. With a cap set at a sensible figure the trade is usually worth it. Without a cap, on a system that offers one, you are leaving the ceiling open for no reason.

Our Verdict on Offline Mode in POS

Clover is the pick if your outages are measured in days rather than hours, because 7 days with a per-payment cap and a total cap is the only architecture here built for that. Square is the pick if you want precise control over exposure, with an offline cap you set anywhere from $1 to $50,000 on a $0 plan, as long as you do not depend on Tap to Pay. For restaurants, Toast keeps cards working through service and is the most honest on this page about what that costs you, while Lightspeed Restaurant is the one that keeps the printers running.

Whichever you choose, set your offline cap before you need it, and tell your staff never to power cycle a terminal during an outage.

Get a POS

Tell us about your business and we will take it from there. Fields marked with an asterisk are required.

We use your details to respond to your request and keep form submissions for up to 24 months after our last interaction. We share your details with a vendor only when you give us permission. See our Privacy Policy.