Best POS Systems for Auto Dealerships (2027)

Two POS vendors name dealerships, and only one of them confirms what its product does. This page separates the money that runs through your DMS from the money that crosses the parts counter and the service drive, prices a large payment both ways, and marks every claim we could not confirm. Facts checked November 2026.

We may earn a commission from links on this page. This does not affect our recommendations. See our Editorial Policy.

  • A card on a $24,999 vehicle payment costs $650.07 at a 2.6% plus $0.10 rate. Helcim caps ACH transfers below $25,000 at $6.
  • That cap stops at $25,000. Above it, no rate is published, and most new vehicles are above it.
  • No POS here replaces your DMS, and no page we read lists VIN, trade-in, deal jacket or F&I features.
Illustration: a dealership parts counter with a payment terminal and shelving behind

Our Top Auto Dealership POS Picks at a Glance

Two vendors, three payment situations. Helcim appears on two cards because it is the only vendor here whose POS features are confirmed on its own product pages. Global Payments appears once, with the confirmation caveat on the card itself.

  • The parts counter and service drive

    Helcim

    Estimates, quotes, orders and invoices, a deposit taken before parts are ordered, and a virtual terminal with pre-authorizations for the deals your service advisors close over the phone. This is the counter a dealership POS actually serves.

    No account monthly fees. Interchange-plus with automatic volume discounts, no contracts or monthly fees. Source: helcim.com/industries/automotive/

  • Payments inside your DMS

    Global Payments

    Global Payments' automotive page describes payments integrated into the dealer's DMS, card on file and recurring billing in the DMS, and estimates that convert to invoices. That page names Genius only in a promo and a trademark line, so none of it is confirmed as a Genius POS feature. Treat this card as a question to put to the vendor, not a specification.

    Genius FAQ: starts as low as $0 per month plus 2.6% plus $0.10 per transaction, for certain in-person card transactions. USD not stated. Sources: globalpayments.com/genius, globalpayments.com/pricing

Why a Dealership Has Two Money Flows and a POS Only Handles One

A dealership takes money two ways, and they have almost nothing in common. A vehicle deal runs through your DMS: trade-in, financing, F&I products, title and registration fees, floor plan. A parts order, an accessory sale and a service invoice run as retail transactions across a counter. A POS is for the second flow. Nothing on this page replaces a DMS, and you should not buy one expecting it to.

The evidence for that split is in the vendor pages and in the voices of dealers themselves. No page we read lists a single vehicle-level feature: no VIN or stock record, no trade-in, no deal jacket, no F&I product, no title or registration fee, no floor plan. Not one. And all three dealership quotes we hold describe parts, accessories and the service drive, not the showroom. The automotive POS software category, as it is actually sold, is a service-and-parts tool with a payment terminal attached.

The second flow still carries the biggest numbers in the building, because the customer who buys a $40,000 truck pays somewhere. On a card at 2.6% plus $0.10, a $24,999 payment costs $650.07 in processing. Helcim caps ACH and EFT transfers below $25,000 at $6. That is the single widest cost gap on this page, and it is why dealership payment processing software gets judged on the bank transfer, not the terminal.

There is a catch on that cap, and it matters more than the headline. The $6 applies to transfers below $25,000. At $25,000 and above, the cap does not apply and no rate appears on any page we read. Most new vehicles sit above that line.

“Our dealership needed a reliable way to manage payments for vehicle accessories, parts, and other retail purchases. The automotive POS system has helped streamline those transactions.”

Dealership General Manager

The table below sets the two vendors against the capabilities a dealership actually needs, and marks every cell we could not confirm.

Compare the Top Auto Dealership POS Systems

Read the Source and confirmation column before the Genius column. Global Payments' automotive page describes four capabilities that the page does not attribute to the Genius product, because it names Genius only in a promo and a trademark line. Those cells say not confirmed for Genius rather than Yes. The last three rows are capabilities no page we read describes for either vendor.

Capability Helcim Taking a large payment without a card fee Global Payments Genius Source and confirmation
Starting price No account monthly fees. In-person Interchange plus 0.40% plus 8 cents, first volume tier. Currency not labeled From $0/mo plus 2.6% plus $0.10 per transaction, for certain in-person card transactions. USD not stated helcim.com/pricing ; globalpayments.com/genius and /pricing
Card pricing model Interchange-plus with automatic volume discounts. No contracts or monthly fees Flat rate as published helcim.com/industries/auto-dealerships/ ; globalpayments.com/genius. The two are quoted on different bases and are not directly comparable
ACH or EFT bank transfer for large payments Yes. $6 cap on transfers below $25,000. Currency not labeled. No rate published at or above $25,000 Not stated helcim.com/industries/auto-dealerships/ and /industries/automotive/
Estimates, quotes, orders and invoices Yes Not stated helcim.com/industries/automotive/
Deposit taken before parts are ordered Yes Not stated helcim.com/industries/automotive/
Virtual terminal with pre-authorizations Yes Not stated helcim.com/industries/automotive/
Payments integrated into the dealer's DMS Not stated Described on the automotive page. Not confirmed for Genius globalpayments.com/industries/automotive. The page names Genius only in a promo and a trademark line
Card on file and recurring billing in the DMS Not stated Described on the automotive page. Not confirmed for Genius globalpayments.com/industries/automotive. Same attribution limit
Encryption, tokenization and PCI support Not stated Described on the automotive page. Not confirmed for Genius globalpayments.com/industries/automotive. Same attribution limit
Estimates that convert to invoices Not stated Described on the automotive page. Not confirmed for Genius globalpayments.com/industries/automotive. Same attribution limit
Vehicle-level records: VIN or stock, trade-in, deal jacket, F&I, title and registration fees, floor plan Not found on any page read Not found on any page read No vendor page read lists any vehicle-level feature
Running cash total across related transactions for Form 8300 Not found on any page read Not found on any page read No vendor page read describes cash aggregation
Motorcycle, RV or powersports dealers named Not found on any page read Not found on any page read No content page found names them for any vendor

Features and prices verified November 2026 from the vendor pages named above. Not stated means the vendor has not published the detail. Not confirmed for Genius means the capability appears on Global Payments' automotive page but that page does not attribute it to the Genius product. Check with the vendor before you rely on either.

Helcim: Best for dealers whose biggest cost is the card fee on a large payment

Helcim is the only vendor on this page whose dealership capabilities appear on its own product pages rather than on an industry page that names a different product. Its automotive page describes estimates, quotes, orders and invoices, a deposit taken before parts are ordered, and a virtual terminal with pre-authorizations. For a service department closing work over the phone and ordering parts against a customer deposit, those are the four things that matter and they are stated plainly.

The pricing is where it earns the pick. No account monthly fees, interchange-plus with automatic volume discounts, and no contracts. Its dealership page states that dealerships process high-value transactions regularly and that every basis point matters, which is the correct framing for this business. The number that follows it is the one to take into any negotiation: ACH and EFT bank transfers capped at $6 on transfers below $25,000. A $24,999 payment costs $6 on the transfer against $650.07 on a card at 2.6% plus $0.10. That is roughly 108 times the cost on the card.

Two things to settle before you commit. The cap stops below $25,000, and no rate appears for transfers at or above that figure, which covers most new vehicle sales. And the headline card rate, 0.40% plus 8 cents, is an interchange-plus figure: it is the markup, not the all-in cost, so it cannot be set against a flat 2.6% as though the two were the same number. On $24,999 that markup component alone is $100.08, with interchange on top and not published. Ask for an effective all-in rate on your real mix before you compare anything.

Pros

  • ACH and EFT capped at $6 below $25,000
  • No account monthly fees, no contracts, automatic volume discounts
  • Estimates, quotes, orders, invoices and a parts deposit, all on its own product pages
  • Virtual terminal with pre-authorizations for phone deals

Cons

  • The $6 cap does not apply at or above $25,000, and no rate is published there
  • Interchange-plus markup cannot be compared directly against a flat rate
  • Currency not labeled on the pricing figures
  • No DMS integration, vehicle-level record or cash aggregation described anywhere

Pricing: no account monthly fees. In-person Interchange plus 0.40% plus 8 cents, first volume tier. Currency not labeled; the page shows United States and Canada location options. Source: helcim.com/pricing

Global Payments Genius: The DMS route, with an attribution problem you need to resolve first

Global Payments' automotive page describes the thing a dealership most wants from a payment system: payments integrated into the dealer's DMS, card on file and recurring billing held in the DMS, encryption, tokenization and PCI support, and estimates that convert to invoices. If that list were confirmed for the product being recommended, this would be the pick on this page.

It is not confirmed. The automotive page names Genius only in a promo and a trademark line. Every capability above belongs to what that page describes, not to a documented Genius POS feature set. We are not saying Genius lacks them. We are saying no page we read establishes that it has them, and a feature you cannot trace to the product is not a feature you can buy on.

What is published for Genius is the price: from $0 a month plus 2.6% plus $0.10 per transaction, with the pricing page showing Essentials at those rates for certain in-person card transactions. Read the qualifier. A service advisor taking a card over the phone is not an in-person transaction, and no card-not-present rate appears. Run the percentage against your real ticket sizes: $5,000 costs $130.10, $10,000 costs $260.10, $20,000 costs $520.10. On vehicle-sized payments a flat percentage is the most expensive structure on this page.

Treat the demo as a fact-finding exercise. Ask which product carries the DMS integration, whether Genius is that product, which DMS platforms are supported, and what the card-not-present rate is. Until those four answers exist in writing, this row of the table stays unconfirmed.

Pros

  • Published headline price with no monthly minimum
  • The automotive page describes DMS-integrated payments, the capability dealers most want
  • Encryption, tokenization and PCI support described at the automotive level

Cons

  • Every automotive capability above is unconfirmed for the Genius product
  • The published rate covers certain in-person card transactions only; no card-not-present rate
  • A flat 2.6% is the most expensive structure here on vehicle-sized payments
  • No ACH or bank transfer option stated

Pricing: Genius page FAQ says starts as low as $0 per month plus 2.6% plus $0.10 per transaction; the pricing page shows Essentials from $0/mo at those rates, for certain in-person card transactions. USD not stated. Sources: globalpayments.com/genius, globalpayments.com/pricing

What this page cannot compare, and why

There is no third review. Among the pages read, only these two vendors name dealerships at all, and Clover's automotive page could not be read, so it is neither ruled in nor out. We will not add POS systems with no stated connection to this industry to make the table look fuller.

Three gaps are worth naming because they apply to both vendors and to the category. No page we read lists a vehicle-level feature of any kind. No page describes a running cash total across related transactions, which is what Form 8300 reporting needs from a checkout. And no content page found names motorcycle, RV or powersports dealers. Lightspeed lists Powersports, Marine and RV only as a business-type option in its contact and demo forms, which is a form field rather than a product claim, so we do not count it.

Pros

    Cons

      How to Choose the Right POS for Your Auto Dealership

      • Decide which counter this is for before you take a demo

        A POS at a dealership serves the parts counter, the accessory sale and the service drive. Your DMS keeps the vehicle deal. If a salesperson tells you their POS handles your sales process, ask them to name the vehicle record, the trade-in and the F&I product in their product documentation, because no page we read on either vendor does. Do not buy a dealership sales management POS expecting it to be a DMS.

      • Price the large payment first, because it dwarfs everything else

        Monthly fees are noise next to processing on a vehicle-sized ticket. At 2.6% plus $0.10, a $20,000 payment costs $520.10 and a $24,999 payment costs $650.07. Helcim's ACH and EFT cap of $6 on transfers below $25,000 is the widest cost gap on this page. Work out your annual card volume on large tickets and let that number choose the vendor.

      • Watch the $25,000 line on the bank transfer cap

        The $6 cap applies to transfers below $25,000. At or above that figure, no rate appears on any page we read, and most new vehicles cross it. Ask for the schedule above $25,000 in writing before you build a payment policy around the cap, because a cap that stops where your average deal starts is not a saving.

      • Do not compare an interchange-plus markup against a flat rate

        Helcim quotes 0.40% plus 8 cents as interchange-plus. Global Payments quotes 2.6% plus $0.10 flat. Those are different kinds of number: on $24,999 the Helcim markup component alone is $100.08, with interchange on top and not published. Ask both for an effective all-in rate on your real mix of card-present, card-not-present and bank transfer, and compare only those.

      • Make sure cash tendering is recorded, because Form 8300 runs on it

        Any trade or business receiving more than $10,000 in cash in one transaction or related transactions must file Form 8300 within 15 days of the cash transaction and keep a copy for five years. The IRS dealership guidance says transactions are related if they occur within a 24-hour period, and adds that they are related even more than 24 hours apart when the dealer knows or has reason to know each is one of a series of connected transactions. That means your checkout needs a record of cash tendered and a way to see a running total across connected payments. No page we read describes that for either vendor. Ask for it.

      • Ask what is in the product, not what is on the industry page

        An industry page and a product page are different documents. Global Payments' automotive page describes DMS-integrated payments, card on file, tokenization and estimate conversion, and names Genius only in a promo and a trademark line. Before you accept any of it, get the vendor to confirm in writing which product carries which capability. This is the most useful question on this page and it applies well beyond these two vendors.

      • Match the records rules that apply to you, with your own advisor

        The FTC's Safeguards Rule FAQ, dated June 2025, says it covers most automobile dealers who finance or lease automobiles, and lists a written information security program, access controls, encryption of customer information at rest and in transit or an effective compensating control, multifactor authentication or something reasonably equivalent, a designated qualified individual, oversight of service providers, a written incident response plan, and notice to the FTC of a breach involving at least 500 consumers' unencrypted information. We cannot confirm whether it reaches dealers that neither finance nor lease. Separately, the FTC's Used Car Rule applies in all states except Maine and Wisconsin, which have similar regulations, and covers dealers who sell or offer for sale more than five used vehicles in a twelve-month period, requiring a Buyers Guide displayed on each vehicle with make, model, model year and VIN filled in and given to the buyer at the sale. That page lists a gross vehicle weight rating under 8,500 pounds among the specifications it covers, lists motorcycles under its exceptions, and does not name RVs, so RV coverage is unconfirmed. The Used Car Rule affects your sales record and printed documents, not your card payment. State dealer rules on licensing, documentation fees and vehicle sales tax were not researched. This page is not legal, tax or compliance advice, and no system here is described as compliant with the Safeguards Rule, the Used Car Rule or Form 8300.

      • Do not accept PCI compliant as an answer from anyone, including us

        Global Payments' automotive page describes PCI support, which is not confirmed for Genius and is not a compliance determination in any case. Compliance validation is decided by your acquirer and the payment brands, not by a vendor marketing page. Nothing on this page is described as compliant with or certified under any standard.

      Frequently Asked Questions About Auto Dealership POS

      Can a POS replace my dealer management system?

      No. Your DMS holds the vehicle deal: the trade-in, the financing, the F&I products, the title and registration fees and the floor plan. No page we read on either vendor describes a single vehicle-level feature. A POS handles the parts counter, the accessory sale and the service invoice. Buy it for that, and keep the DMS.

      What does it cost to take a vehicle payment on a card?

      At the published 2.6% plus $0.10 rate, $5,000 costs $130.10, $10,000 costs $260.10, $20,000 costs $520.10 and $24,999 costs $650.07. That rate covers certain in-person card transactions, and no card-not-present rate is published, so a payment taken over the phone may cost more. Automotive dealership point of sale system pricing is decided by this line, not by the monthly fee.

      Can I take the payment by bank transfer instead?

      Helcim states ACH and EFT bank transfers with a $6 cap on transfers below $25,000, currency not labeled. Against a card at 2.6% plus $0.10, that is $6 against $650.07 on a $24,999 payment. The cap does not apply at or above $25,000, and no rate is published there, so confirm the schedule above that line before you plan around it. Global Payments does not state an ACH option.

      Do any of these handle VIN records, trade-ins or F&I?

      No page we read lists any vehicle-level feature for either vendor: no VIN or stock record, no trade-in, no deal jacket, no F&I product, no title or registration fee, no floor plan. If you are shopping for POS with vehicle inventory management, nothing on this page offers it and you should be looking at DMS and dealership inventory software instead.

      Does the FTC Safeguards Rule apply to my dealership?

      The FTC's FAQ says it covers most automobile dealers who finance or lease automobiles, and lists the controls it requires, including encryption of customer information at rest and in transit and multifactor authentication or something reasonably equivalent. Whether it reaches a dealer that neither finances nor leases is not something we can confirm from that page. This is a description of what the FTC published, not legal advice. Confirm your own position with your advisor.

      What does Form 8300 need from my checkout?

      A record of cash tendered and a way to see a running total across connected payments. The threshold is more than $10,000 in cash in one transaction or related transactions, filing is due within 15 days of the cash transaction, and you keep a copy for five years. Transactions are related if they occur within a 24-hour period, and the IRS adds that they stay related beyond 24 hours when you know or have reason to know they are connected. No page we read describes cash aggregation for either vendor, so ask.

      Do these systems serve motorcycle, RV or powersports dealers?

      No content page we found names them for any vendor. Lightspeed lists Powersports, Marine and RV as a business-type option in its contact and demo forms, which is a form field and not a product claim. Neither Helcim nor Global Payments names motorcycle or RV dealers anywhere we read. If you run one, treat every capability on this page as unverified for your business until the vendor confirms it.

      How We Chose These POS Systems

      We checked the major POS and payment vendors for pages naming auto dealerships and found two: Helcim and Global Payments. We then read their own published pages in November 2026 and recorded what each states, citing the page behind every line. Where a capability appears on an industry page that does not attribute it to the product being recommended, we mark it not confirmed rather than counting it, which is why four of Global Payments' automotive capabilities carry that label.

      We have not run either system in a working dealership, we have not been briefed by either vendor, and we have no survey or study data of our own to cite. Clover's automotive page could not be read, so it is neither ruled in nor out. We did not research state dealer rules on licensing, documentation fees or vehicle sales tax. Regulatory passages come from the FTC and IRS pages named in Sources and describe what those pages say. No system here is described as compliant with the Safeguards Rule, the Used Car Rule or Form 8300.

      Read our full method at /how-we-review/. Reviewed by CanComCo, Partner Experience Manager. Updated November 2026.

      Our Verdict: Best Auto Dealership POS Overall

      Helcim is the pick, on two grounds. Its dealership capabilities sit on its own product pages rather than on an industry page describing a different product, and its ACH and EFT cap of $6 on transfers below $25,000 is the largest cost difference anywhere on this page against a card at 2.6% plus $0.10. For the parts counter and the service drive it names estimates, quotes, orders, invoices, a parts deposit and a virtual terminal with pre-authorizations. Settle the schedule above $25,000 and get an all-in effective rate before you sign.

      There is no runner-up here on confirmed evidence. Global Payments' automotive page describes the DMS integration a dealership most wants, and that page names Genius only in a promo and a trademark line, so none of it is established for the product. Resolve that in writing and it may become the better answer. Until then, it is a question rather than a recommendation, and no POS on this page replaces your DMS or touches a vehicle record.

      Get a POS

      Tell us about your business and we will take it from there. Fields marked with an asterisk are required.

      We use your details to respond to your request and keep form submissions for up to 24 months after our last interaction. We share your details with a vendor only when you give us permission. See our Privacy Policy.