Square: Best for chains that want a published per-location price
Square is the clearest per-location price on this page. Free runs at $0 per location, Plus at $49 per location per month, and one master account holds up to 300 locations with per-location prices and bank accounts on it. For a three-store retailer that is 3 times $49, which is $147 per month, a number you can take into any other sales conversation as a benchmark.
Separate bank accounts per location matter more than they sound. A chain with partner-owned or separately incorporated stores needs settlement to land in the right account, and Square puts that on one master account rather than forcing separate logins.
The limit is transfers. Moving stock between stores needs Plus or Premium, and the transfer is made in the Dashboard rather than at the till, so a store manager cannot do it from the counter. Shared staff, combined reports and location permissions are not stated, which for a multi-store POS system is a notable set of blanks. The 300-location ceiling will not bind most chains, but it is a real number and worth knowing if you are planning past it.
Pros
- Published per-location price at $49 on Plus
- Per-location prices and bank accounts on one account
- Up to 300 locations
Cons
- Transfers need Plus or Premium
- Transfers made in the Dashboard, not at the till
- Staff, reports and permissions not stated
Pricing: $0 per location on Free. Plus $49 per location per month.