Square: Best for the front of the job, from estimate to booked appointment
Square covers more of the repair sequence than anything else here. It creates and sends estimates and work orders, schedules with online booking, and pushes status updates to the customer by email and text, which removes the three phone calls a service writer makes on every job. Behind the counter it adds technician shift and labor cost management and inventory with low-stock alerts, so POS with mechanic labor tracking and POS with automotive parts inventory management both point at the same system. Its page names collision centers and tire installers by name.
Read the price carefully, because it is not what it appears to be. Free runs at $0 a month per location and paid plans start at $49 a month per location, but that is general Square pricing taken from the main pricing page, not an automotive plan, and the source does not state whether $49 is a monthly or an annual rate. At $49 a month that is $588 per location per year; if it is an annual-billing figure the monthly number is higher. Get the automotive quote in writing before you budget.
The gaps are the regulatory ones. No authorization capture, no shop-management connection, no deposit before parts, no offline mode. For a shop with reliable Wi-Fi that does not already run shop software, Square is the most complete answer on this page. For a shop that needs a recorded approval on every added repair, it answers the easy half of the job.
Pros
- Estimates and work orders created and sent to the customer
- Online booking plus status updates by email and text
- Technician shift and labor cost management
- Inventory with low-stock alerts; the page names collision centers and tire installers
Cons
- The $49 figure is general Square pricing, not automotive, and the billing period is not stated
- No authorization capture described
- No shop-management software connection stated
- No offline mode and no parts deposit stated
Pricing: Square Free $0/mo per location; paid plans from $49/mo per location. General Square pricing, not automotive-specific; monthly versus annual billing not stated. Source: squareup.com/us/en/pricing