Best Desktop POS Systems (2027)

Eight systems for a fixed checkout counter. Some install on the Windows or Mac machine you already own, some run in a browser, and some only work on a terminal the vendor sells you. This page sorts them by which, and by what each register costs.

Some links on this page may earn us a commission from the vendor, at no cost to you. Read how we review.

  • Best for keeping your Windows PCs: KORONA POS. Installs on Windows or Linux, from $59 per terminal per month.
  • Best free software: Helcim. $0 for the software, with desktop apps for Mac and Windows. Smart Terminal $349.
  • Best all-in-one register: Square. Square Register $899 up front, or run a browser checkout free.
Illustration: cashier at a checkout lane with a desktop monitor, barcode scanner and cash drawer

Top Desktop POS Systems at a Glance

  • Best free software

    Helcim

    Free desktop apps for Mac and Windows, with $0 for the software itself. The catch: the app works only with Helcim's own Card Reader, Smart Terminal or iPhone.

    $0 software. Smart Terminal $349, or $32/mo for 12 months.

  • Best all-in-one register

    Square

    Square Register is a complete counter unit at $899, or $44 per month for 24 months. If you would rather use the PC you own, Virtual Terminal runs in a browser with no monthly fee.

    $0/mo. Square Register $899 or $44/mo for 24 months.

Why Desktop Support Matters for Your POS

A desktop POS runs on a Windows or Mac computer, in a web browser, or on a countertop terminal at a fixed checkout. Without desktop support, a store may have to replace working PCs and scanners with tablets, a cost nobody budgets for when they are shopping for software.

Think about a hardware store with four checkout lanes, each running a Windows PC with a barcode scanner already wired in. Those machines work. Replacing them with tablets means buying four tablets, four stands, and four new scanners, plus retraining staff on a smaller screen. Or a grocery store where the cashier needs a large display and a keyboard to look up produce codes at speed: a tablet keyboard slows that to a crawl.

One distinction decides most of this page. Desktop POS covers three different things. An installed app runs natively on Windows or Mac. A browser POS runs in Chrome or Safari on any computer. A countertop terminal is the vendor's own hardware running the vendor's own software. All three sit on a counter. Only the first two let you keep the computer you own.

What to Look for in a Desktop POS System

  • 1. Whether it runs on Windows, Mac or in a web browser

    This splits the list. KORONA installs on Windows and Linux, Helcim has apps for Mac and Windows, Hike runs on PC and Mac, and Erply, Lightspeed and Square work in a browser. Clover runs its own Android software, not Windows or Mac, and Toast runs only on approved Toast hardware. Any Windows POS software worth shortlisting should say which of the three it is.

  • 2. Whether it works with your existing PC, scanner and printer

    A desktop POS with barcode scanner support should talk to the scanner you own, not force a new one, and the same goes for a desktop POS with receipt printer support. Ask for a supported peripherals list by model. Helcim is the strict case here: its app works only with Helcim's Card Reader, Smart Terminal and iPhone.

  • 3. The vendor's countertop terminal and its price

    If you want the vendor's own box, the prices spread wide: Helcim's Smart Terminal at $349, Square Register at $899, and Clover Station Solo at $1,799. Toast includes a first terminal with the $69 plan. That is a five-fold difference between the cheapest and the dearest.

  • 4. Offline mode at the counter

    Read the fine print, because offline means different things. Lightspeed takes cash offline but not integrated card payments, and clearing your browser cache turns the feature off. Square's offline payments expire after 72 hours. With Toast you are liable for declined offline payments. KORONA keeps selling but loses gift cards and card processing. Offline desktop POS software is a category where the small print decides the answer.

  • 5. Cloud back office and reports

    A cloud-based desktop POS system puts the register on the counter and the reporting in a browser anywhere. That matters if you want to check yesterday's numbers from home rather than from the shop floor.

  • 6. Price per register

    Count your lanes before you compare headline prices. KORONA at $59 per terminal means three lanes cost $177 a month. Erply's $49 entry includes one terminal and does not publish the cost of more. Lightspeed's $89 includes one register. A single-lane price tells you nothing about a four-lane store.

Compare Desktop POS Software Side by Side

Clover and Toast run the vendor's own software on the vendor's own hardware. Neither installs on Windows or Mac or runs in a browser. They are included as countertop options, not as software for a computer you already own.

POS system Starting price Windows app Mac app Web browser Countertop terminal Offline mode Price per register
KORONA POSBest for keeping your Windows PCs From $59 per terminal per month Yes, Windows and Linux Not confirmed Not stated Not stated Keeps selling. Gift cards and card processing stop $59 per terminal
Erply From $49 per store, billed annually Yes, via browser Yes, via browser Yes, Windows, Mac and Linux Not stated Not stated Entry includes 1 terminal. Extra registers not priced
Hike From $59/mo billed annually per outlet Yes, PC Yes, Mac Not stated Hardware priced in AUD Offline selling yes. Adding products and stocktakes need internet $59 per outlet
Helcim $0 software Yes Yes Not stated Smart Terminal $349, or $32/mo for 12 months Not stated $0 software per register
Lightspeed Retail (X-Series) From $89/mo billed annually Yes, via browser Yes, via browser Yes Not stated Cash only. No integrated card payments. Clearing the browser cache turns it off 1 register included
Square $0/mo (Square Free) Virtual Terminal in a browser Virtual Terminal in a browser Yes Square Register $899, or $44/mo for 24 months Offline payments expire after 72 hours $0 software per register
Clover Station Solo $1,799 or $174/mo No, runs Clover's own Android software No Not stated Station Solo $1,799 or $174/mo, cash drawer included Documented for Mini and Flex $1,799 per station
Toast Point of Sale from $69/mo No, approved Toast hardware only No Not stated First terminal included with the plan Takes cards offline. You are liable for declines First terminal included

Features and prices verified November 2026. Not stated means the vendor has not published the detail, not that the feature is missing.

KORONA POS: Best for keeping the Windows PCs you already own

KORONA installs natively on Windows and Linux, which makes it the clearest fit for a store with working PCs at each lane. It pairs with desktop kits of scanner, receipt printer and cash drawer, so the hardware you have stays in place and you buy software instead of a counter full of new boxes.

Pricing is per terminal at $59 a month. That is transparent and it scales linearly: three registers cost $177 a month, four cost $236. Run that multiplication before you compare it with a flat per-store price, because per-terminal pricing is the cheaper model at one lane and the more expensive one at five.

Two things to settle. A Mac app is not confirmed, so a Mac-based counter should look elsewhere. And when the internet drops, KORONA keeps selling but the cloud functions stop, which takes gift cards and card processing with them. For a store that runs mostly cash during an outage, that is survivable. For one that does not, it is not.

Pros

  • Installs natively on Windows and Linux
  • Works with existing scanner, printer and cash drawer
  • Transparent per-terminal pricing

Cons

  • Mac app not confirmed
  • Gift cards and card processing stop offline
  • Per-terminal pricing adds up across lanes

Pricing: from $59 per terminal per month.

Helcim: Best for a free desktop app on Mac or Windows

Helcim charges $0 for the software and ships desktop apps for both Mac and Windows. For a boutique with a Mac at the counter, that combination is rare on this page: most browser-based options work on a Mac, but a native app is a different experience, and most native apps are Windows only.

The Smart Terminal costs $349, or $32 a month for 12 months, which totals $384. The up-front purchase saves you $35. At $349 it is the cheapest vendor terminal here by a wide margin, less than half of Square Register and a fifth of Clover Station Solo.

The constraint is hardware lock-in. The app works only with Helcim's Card Reader, Smart Terminal and iPhone. If you were planning to connect a card reader you already own, that is closed. Offline mode is also not stated, so if your connection drops at the counter, get a written answer before you commit.

Pros

  • $0 software
  • Native apps for both Mac and Windows
  • Smart Terminal $349, the cheapest vendor terminal here

Cons

  • Works only with Helcim's own Card Reader, Smart Terminal and iPhone
  • Offline mode not stated
  • Financing costs $35 more than buying outright

Pricing: $0 software. Smart Terminal $349, or $32/mo for 12 months.

Square: Best for choosing between a register and a browser checkout

Square gives you both options and lets the counter decide. Square Register is an all-in-one unit at $899 up front, or $44 a month for 24 months, which totals $1,056. Buying outright saves $157. If you would rather use the computer you already own, Virtual Terminal runs in a browser on a PC or Mac with no monthly fee at all.

That second path is the one worth weighing. A browser checkout on an existing PC costs nothing in software and nothing in hardware. The trade-off is that Virtual Terminal is a browser page, not a purpose-built register, so a high-volume counter will feel the difference in speed and durability.

Offline behavior has a hard limit: Square's offline payments expire after 72 hours. If an outage runs longer than three days, those transactions are gone. For most stores that window never closes, but a rural location with unreliable service should note it.

Pros

  • Two desktop paths, register or browser
  • $0 monthly plan
  • Square Register is a complete counter unit

Cons

  • The PC and Mac option is Virtual Terminal in a browser, not a native app
  • Offline payments expire after 72 hours
  • Financing the Register costs $157 more

Pricing: $0/mo (Square Free). Square Register $899, or $44/mo for 24 months.

Erply: Best for a browser POS across Windows, Mac and Linux

Erply runs in a browser on Windows, Mac and Linux, the widest operating system coverage on this page. For a chain with mixed machines across stores, that removes the compatibility question: if the computer runs a modern browser, it runs the POS.

Pricing starts at $49 per store, billed annually, with one terminal included. That is the lowest entry price among the paid options here.

The gap in that sentence matters: Erply does not publish what extra registers cost. A store with one lane knows its price. A store with four does not, and the difference between $49 and four times $49 is the whole budget. Get the per-register figure in writing before you compare Erply with KORONA's transparent $59 per terminal.

Pros

  • Browser POS on Windows, Mac and Linux
  • $49 entry, the lowest paid price here
  • Per-store pricing suits chains

Cons

  • Price of extra registers not published
  • Entry plan includes one terminal only
  • Offline mode not stated

Pricing: from $49 per store, billed annually, one terminal included.

Lightspeed Retail: Best for running the POS in a browser on existing PCs

Lightspeed Retail runs in a browser, so any PC or Mac at the counter becomes a register without installing anything. The entry plan at $89 a month billed annually includes one register, the highest software cost on this page, but it buys the full retail platform rather than a checkout tool.

Read the offline mode carefully, because it is the most conditional here. Offline takes cash but not integrated card payments. If the internet drops during trading, you are a cash-only store until it returns. For a grocery or hardware store where most tickets are cards, that is a serious exposure.

There is a second trap in the same feature. Clearing your browser cache turns offline mode off. A staff member tidying up a slow browser can silently disable your outage protection, and you will not find out until the outage. Build that into your staff instructions.

Pros

  • Runs in a browser on existing PCs and Macs
  • One register included in the entry plan
  • Full retail platform

Cons

  • Offline takes cash only, no integrated card payments
  • Clearing the browser cache turns offline mode off
  • From $89/mo billed annually, the highest here

Pricing: from $89/mo billed annually, one register included.

Hike: Best for one POS across PC, Mac and iPad with offline selling

Hike runs on PC, Mac and iPad from the same subscription, which suits a shop that wants a fixed counter register and a tablet for the floor without paying for two systems. Pricing is $59 a month per outlet, billed annually, so the cost follows your locations rather than your devices.

Offline selling works, which puts Hike ahead of Lightspeed on the feature that matters most during an outage. You keep taking sales rather than switching to cash.

Two limits. Adding products and running stocktakes need an internet connection, so offline covers selling but not stock work: plan deliveries and counts around that. And Hike shows hardware prices in AUD, which means a US buyer cannot budget the hardware from the published figures. Ask for USD pricing before you commit.

Pros

  • One subscription covers PC, Mac and iPad
  • Offline selling works
  • Per-outlet pricing, not per device

Cons

  • Adding products and stocktakes need internet
  • Hardware prices shown in AUD
  • Annual billing

Pricing: from $59/mo billed annually per outlet.

Clover: Best for a countertop station with the cash drawer included

Clover Station Solo is a complete counter unit at $1,799, or $174 a month, with the cash drawer included. Compare that against buying a terminal, a drawer, a printer and a scanner separately and the bundled price starts to look less steep.

Understand what you are not getting. Clover stations run Clover's own Android software, not Windows or Mac. This is not a desktop POS in the sense of installing on your computer. It is a counter appliance, and your existing PCs play no part in it.

Offline payments are documented for the Mini and the Flex. The brief does not cover Station Solo's offline behavior, so if you are buying the Solo and your connection is unreliable, that is the question to ask before you spend $1,799.

Pros

  • Complete station with cash drawer included
  • Purpose-built counter hardware
  • Monthly financing available at $174

Cons

  • Runs Clover's own Android software, not Windows or Mac
  • $1,799, the most expensive here
  • Offline payments documented for Mini and Flex, not stated for Station Solo

Pricing: Station Solo $1,799 or $174/mo.

Toast: Best for restaurants that want a terminal included in the plan

Toast includes the first terminal with the Point of Sale plan at $69 a month. For a restaurant opening one location, that is the lowest barrier to a countertop terminal on this page: no separate hardware purchase, no $899 or $1,799 line in the opening budget.

Toast runs only on approved Toast hardware. Your existing PCs and Macs are not part of this, and neither is a browser. For a restaurant that is often fine, since the counter and the kitchen run on the vendor's gear anyway. For a retailer with a server room full of working machines, it is a non-starter.

One clause deserves attention before you rely on offline mode: Toast takes cards offline, but you are liable for declined offline payments. If a card fails after the connection returns, the loss is yours. Price that risk against your average ticket and your volume during a typical outage.

Pros

  • First terminal included with the $69 plan
  • Takes card payments offline
  • Built for restaurant counters

Cons

  • Runs only on approved Toast hardware
  • No Windows, Mac or browser option
  • You are liable for declined offline payments

Pricing: Point of Sale from $69/mo, first terminal included.

Which Desktop POS Fits Your Situation

You run a hardware store and want to keep your Windows PCs

Go with KORONA POS. It installs on Windows or Linux and works with desktop kits of scanner, receipt printer and cash drawer, so the machines at your lanes stay where they are. Price it per lane: three registers on Core is 3 x $59 = $177 a month. For a desktop retail POS system on hardware you already own, that is the shortest route.

You run a boutique with a Mac at the counter

Go with Helcim. It has free desktop apps for Mac and Windows that pair with the Smart Terminal, at $349 up front or $32 a month for 12 months, which totals $384. Buying outright saves you $35. Remember the app works only with Helcim's own hardware.

You are choosing between a register and a browser checkout

Go with Square, which offers both. Square Register costs $899 up front or $44 a month for 24 months, totaling $1,056, so buying saves $157. Virtual Terminal runs in a browser on a PC or Mac with no monthly fee, which costs nothing if the counter computer already exists.

Frequently Asked Questions

Can I install the POS on the Windows PC I already own?

With KORONA POS, yes, natively on Windows or Linux. Helcim and Hike have desktop apps for both PC and Mac. Erply, Lightspeed Retail and Square run in a browser on a PC, which works on the machine you own without installing anything. Clover and Toast run only on the vendor's own hardware. A computer POS system that uses your existing machine saves the hardware line entirely.

Does a desktop POS work on a Mac?

Helcim and Hike have Mac apps. Erply and Lightspeed run in a browser on a Mac, and Square's Virtual Terminal does the same. KORONA's Mac app is not confirmed. Clover and Toast do not support Mac at all.

What does a countertop terminal cost?

It ranges widely. Helcim's Smart Terminal is $349, Square Register is $899, and Clover Station Solo is $1,799 with the cash drawer included. Toast includes a first terminal with the $69 plan. Hike shows hardware prices in AUD, and Erply, Lightspeed and KORONA have not published terminal prices we can cite.

Does a desktop POS keep working when the internet goes down?

Partly, and the terms differ. KORONA keeps selling but loses gift cards and card processing. Hike keeps selling, though adding products and stocktakes need a connection. Lightspeed takes cash but not integrated card payments, and clearing the browser cache turns the feature off. Square's offline payments expire after 72 hours. Toast takes cards offline but you carry the risk on declines. Helcim and Erply have not stated an offline position.

Will it work with my barcode scanner, receipt printer and cash drawer?

KORONA works with desktop kits of scanner, receipt printer and cash drawer. Clover Station Solo includes the cash drawer. Helcim is the restrictive case: its app works only with Helcim's Card Reader, Smart Terminal and iPhone. For the others, ask for a supported peripherals list by model before you buy.

How much does each extra register cost?

KORONA charges $59 per terminal, so the math is simple. Lightspeed's $89 plan includes one register and Erply's $49 plan includes one terminal, but neither publishes the price of additional registers. Clover Station Solo is $1,799 per station. Count your lanes and ask for the per-register figure.

Can I run the back office from somewhere other than the counter?

A cloud back office lets you check reports in a browser away from the shop. Erply, Lightspeed and Square run the POS itself in a browser, so the same login works from anywhere. For the installed apps, confirm which parts are cloud and which stay on the counter machine.

Our Verdict on Desktop POS Systems

KORONA POS is the pick if you want to keep the Windows machines at your lanes, because it installs natively, works with the scanner and drawer you own, and prices honestly at $59 per terminal. Helcim is the runner-up and the better choice for a Mac counter or a tight budget, with $0 software and a $349 Smart Terminal, as long as you accept its hardware lock-in. If you cannot decide between a purpose-built register and a browser checkout, Square lets you start free in a browser and add the $899 Register later.

Get a POS

Tell us about your business and we will take it from there. Fields marked with an asterisk are required.

We use your details to respond to your request and keep form submissions for up to 24 months after our last interaction. We share your details with a vendor only when you give us permission. See our Privacy Policy.