Best POS Systems for Bed and Breakfasts (2027)

No POS vendor page we read names a bed and breakfast, an inn or a guesthouse. These three reach you through hotel pages, and this page says which one for each. None of the three documents a lodging tax line, which is the one tax a B&B cannot avoid. Facts checked October 27, 2027.

We may earn a commission from links on this page. This does not affect our recommendations. See our Editorial Policy.

  • Most complete and the only price on the relevant page: Lightspeed Hospitality, from $189 USD a month.
  • Cheapest by a wide margin: Hike, $708 a year billed annually against Lightspeed's $2,268.
  • Lodging tax is 0 of 3. Texas, Vermont and New York name B&Bs as covered; no POS here documents the line.
Illustration: a small guesthouse front desk with a tablet and a card reader

Our Top Bed and Breakfast POS Picks at a Glance

All three systems reach this vertical through hotel pages. None names a bed and breakfast, an inn or a guesthouse. Each card states its own match route.

  • Cheapest by a wide margin

    Hike

    Posts charges directly to guest rooms, at a third of Lightspeed's annual cost. Its hotel and resort page shows no price, so the figure below is general Hike pricing. Matches through that hotel and resort page, which does not name B&Bs.

    From $59/mo billed annually, or $69 monthly. That is $708 a year against $828, a $120 saving for paying annually. Hotel page shows no price. Source: hikeup.com/pricing

  • Names its PMS partners

    Toast

    The only one of the three that names the property management systems it syncs with: Cloudbeds and Stayntouch. Room charges and reporting sync through those integrations. Matches through its hotel restaurant page, which does not name B&Bs.

    Starter Kit from $0/month for software. Point of Sale from $69/month, first terminal subscription included, new customers and single locations only. Hotel page shows no price. Source: pos.toasttab.com/blog/on-the-line/toast-pricing, post dated Oct 20, 2027

Why You Are Shopping in the Hotel Aisle

Start with what the search actually turns up. No POS vendor page we read names a bed and breakfast, an inn or a guesthouse. Toast and Lightspeed reach this vertical through hotel restaurant pages. Hike reaches it through a hotel and resort page. Those pages are written for a property with a dining room, a bar, a spa and a gift shop, and you may have four rooms and a kitchen table. Everything below is a hotel product you are fitting to a smaller business, and reading it that way will save you a demo.

The gap that matters most is tax. A room charge at a B&B carries state lodging tax, and three state pages name your business type directly. Texas charges a 6 percent state hotel occupancy tax on the cost of a room, says owners, operators or managers must collect it from guests, and lists bed and breakfasts as covered, with cities, certain counties and special purpose districts able to add a local hotel tax on top. Vermont charges a 9 percent rooms tax plus any 1 percent local option tax, and lists inns and bed and breakfasts. New York's Tax Bulletin TB-ST-331 lists a bed and breakfast establishment. Pennsylvania's page does not say whether B&Bs are covered. Against that, not one of the three systems here documents a lodging tax line on a room charge.

Put a number on it. On a $200 room night, Texas state tax alone is $12 and Vermont with the local option is $20, a difference of $8 a night. Across 300 nights sold, that is $3,600 against $6,000 you collect and remit. A POS that cannot separate that line is not calculating your biggest recurring obligation.

Then there is how the money moves inside the property. Lightspeed posts on-site purchases to the room and sends bills from the restaurant to the guest account in the PMS. Hike posts charges directly to guest rooms. Toast syncs room charges and reporting through PMS integrations and names Cloudbeds and Stayntouch. Those are three different mechanisms with three different dependencies, and if you do not already run a PMS, Toast's route needs one before it works.

One absence to name before the table. Room deposits and card guarantees are not documented on any of the three pages we read. Hike's hotel page mentions handling deposits and final settlements under front-desk checkout, and does not describe them as room deposits, so we do not count it. If taking a card to hold a reservation is central to how you book, confirm it in a demo.

“We needed a simpler way to manage guest payments and additional purchases during their stay. Our B&B payment management system has helped us keep transactions organized.”

Bed and Breakfast Owner

The table below sets the three against those questions and marks every cell the vendor has not published.

Compare the Top Bed and Breakfast POS Systems

Read the How this system matches your business column first. No vendor page we read names a bed and breakfast, an inn or a guesthouse, so every match is through a hotel page. Two columns are empty across all three systems: Lodging tax line and Room deposits or card guarantees.

POS system Starting price Price on the hotel page How this system matches your business Charge to room PMS integration Lodging tax line Room deposits or card guarantees
Lightspeed RestaurantMost complete, and the only price on the relevant page Restaurant plans: Starter $69, Essential $189, Premium $399 USD. Pricing cards show no billing period Yes. Lightspeed Hospitality from $189 USD a month, which is $2,268 a year Hotel restaurant page only. B&B not named Yes. Posts on-site purchases to the room Yes. Bills sent from the restaurant to the guest account in the PMS. One POS for restaurants, bars, spas and gift shops on the property Not found on the pages read Not found on the pages read
Hike From $59/mo billed annually, $69 monthly. That is $708 or $828 a year No price shown Hotel and resort page only. B&B not named Yes. Posts charges directly to guest rooms Not stated Not found on the pages read Not found. The hotel page says Handle deposits and final settlements under front-desk checkout, not described as room deposits
Toast Starter Kit from $0/mo for software. Point of Sale from $69/mo, first terminal subscription included, new customers and single locations only. Price from a blog post dated Oct 20, 2027 No price shown Hotel restaurant page only. B&B not named Through PMS integrations rather than stated directly Yes, and the only one naming its partners: Cloudbeds and Stayntouch Not found on the pages read Not found on the pages read

Features and prices verified October 27, 2027 from the vendor pages named in Sources. Not found on the pages read means we did not find the capability documented, not that it is absent. No vendor page we read names a bed and breakfast, an inn or a guesthouse.

Lightspeed Restaurant: The most complete property coverage, and the only price on the page that applies to you

Lightspeed describes the fullest picture of how money moves around a lodging property. On-site purchases post to the room, bills go from the restaurant to the guest account in the PMS, and one POS covers restaurants, bars, spas and gift shops. For an inn where a guest has breakfast, buys a jar of honey at the front desk and settles everything at checkout, that is the shape of the problem solved.

It is also the only one of the three that publishes a price on the page that actually applies to you. The hotel page states Lightspeed Hospitality from $189 USD a month, which is $2,268 a year. Note what happens on the restaurant side: the pricing cards show Starter at $69, Essential at $189 and Premium at $399 USD with no billing period attached. The hotel page says a month and the restaurant cards say nothing, which is an odd inconsistency on one vendor's own site. Work from the hotel figure.

The cost is the honest objection. At $2,268 a year it is more than three times Hike's annual figure, and a four-room guesthouse may not need a system built to run a spa and a gift shop. Lodging tax and room deposits are not documented. The match is a hotel restaurant page that does not name your business type.

Pros

  • Posts on-site purchases to the room
  • Bills sent from the restaurant to the guest account in the PMS
  • One POS for restaurants, bars, spas and gift shops
  • The only system here publishing a price on its hotel page

Cons

  • $2,268 a year, over three times Hike's annual figure
  • Restaurant pricing cards show no billing period
  • Lodging tax line not documented
  • Room deposits and card guarantees not documented

Pricing: restaurant plans Starter $69, Essential $189, Premium $399 USD, pricing cards show no billing period. Hotel page says Lightspeed Hospitality starts at $189 USD a month. Sources: lightspeedhq.com/pos/restaurant/pricing, lightspeedhq.com/pos/restaurant/hotel-epos

Hike: The cheapest route to posting a charge to a guest room

Hike posts charges directly to guest rooms, and it does so at a third of what Lightspeed costs. From $59 a month billed annually is $708 a year, or $828 if you pay monthly, a $120 difference for paying up front. Against Lightspeed Hospitality's $2,268 that is $1,560 a year saved, which for a small guesthouse is a meaningful number rather than a rounding difference.

Read the caveat on that price. The $59 figure is general Hike POS pricing, and its hotel and resort page shows no price at all. So the number you can budget from and the page that describes the capability you want are two different documents. Ask what the hotel and resort configuration costs before you treat $708 as your figure.

PMS integration is not stated, which matters if you already run booking software and expect the two to talk. Lodging tax and room deposits are not documented. The hotel page mentions handling deposits and final settlements under front-desk checkout without describing them as room deposits, and we do not count that as a stated feature.

Pros

  • Posts charges directly to guest rooms
  • $708 a year billed annually, the cheapest here by a wide margin
  • $120 saving for paying annually rather than monthly
  • Published general pricing you can read without a sales call

Cons

  • The hotel and resort page shows no price
  • PMS integration not stated
  • Lodging tax line not documented
  • Deposits mentioned at front-desk checkout but not described as room deposits

Pricing: from $59/mo billed annually ($69 monthly). Hotel page shows no price. Source: hikeup.com/pricing

Toast: The only one that names its property management partners

Toast is the only system here that tells you which property management systems it works with. Its hotel restaurant page names Cloudbeds and Stayntouch and describes PMS integrations that sync room charges and reporting. For an innkeeper already running one of those two, that is a specific answer rather than a category promise, and specificity is worth more than a long integration list you then have to search.

The structure follows from that. Toast reaches the room charge through the PMS rather than stating a direct post to the room, which is a different dependency: no PMS, no room charge. If you take bookings by phone and a notebook, that route needs a system you do not yet have.

Pricing starts at $0 a month for Starter Kit software and $69 a month for Point of Sale with the first terminal subscription included, which is $828 a year, and that rate applies to new customers and single locations only. The figure comes from a Toast blog post dated October 20, 2027 rather than a pricing page, and the hotel page shows no price at all. Lodging tax and room deposits are not documented.

Pros

  • Names Cloudbeds and Stayntouch as PMS partners
  • PMS integrations sync room charges and reporting
  • Starter Kit from $0 a month for software
  • Specific partner names rather than a generic integration claim

Cons

  • Charge to room runs through a PMS rather than stated directly
  • Hotel page shows no price
  • $69 applies to new customers and single locations only, taken from a blog post
  • Lodging tax and room deposits not documented

Pricing: Starter Kit from $0/month for software. Point of Sale from $69/month, first terminal subscription included, new customers and single locations only. Hotel page shows no price. Source: pos.toasttab.com/blog/on-the-line/toast-pricing (post dated Oct 20, 2027)

How to Choose the Right POS for Your Bed and Breakfast

  • Accept that you are buying a hotel product and shop accordingly

    No POS vendor page we read names a bed and breakfast, an inn or a guesthouse. Every option here is a hotel product. So ask each salesperson the question their page does not answer: what is the smallest property running this, and can I speak to them. A system built to run a spa, a gift shop and a 90-cover dining room may be more than a four-room guesthouse needs, and the license cost will tell you.

  • Work out where lodging tax gets calculated, because no POS here does it

    Texas charges a 6 percent state hotel occupancy tax and names bed and breakfasts as covered, with local hotel taxes possible on top. Vermont charges 9 percent rooms tax plus any 1 percent local option and lists inns and bed and breakfasts. New York's bulletin lists a bed and breakfast establishment. Pennsylvania's page does not say. Not one of the three systems documents a lodging tax line. Decide now whether your PMS, your accountant or a manual step owns that calculation, because the POS is not claiming it. Only these states were researched, and this page is not tax advice.

  • Check whether charge-to-room is native or runs through a PMS

    Lightspeed states posting on-site purchases to the room. Hike states posting charges directly to guest rooms. Toast reaches it through PMS integrations with Cloudbeds and Stayntouch named. Those are not the same purchase: one works on its own, the other needs booking software you may not have. If you take reservations by phone and keep a paper diary, the integration route needs a PMS first, and that is a second budget line.

  • Price the product on the page that applies to you

    Two of the three show no price on their hotel page. Lightspeed's hotel page says Hospitality starts at $189 USD a month, which is $2,268 a year. Hike's $59 a month, $708 a year, is general POS pricing with no hotel figure published. Toast's $69 a month is from a blog post and its hotel page shows nothing. Get the hotel or hospitality configuration quoted, not the entry plan, because the gap between those two numbers is where a budget breaks.

  • Get the fee display right, because a federal rule now governs it

    The FTC Rule on Unfair or Deceptive Fees, 16 CFR Part 464, took effect on May 12, 2025 and covers short-term lodging, which the rule describes as temporary sleeping accommodations at a hotel, motel, inn, short-term rental, vacation rental or other place of lodging. Bed and breakfasts are not named; inns are. You must disclose the total price more prominently than any other pricing information. The FTC's FAQ says a required resort fee must be included in the total price, and that government charges need not be included in the displayed total but must still be disclosed, and that coverage applies online and in physical locations. So a mandatory cleaning or service fee goes inside your headline rate, while lodging tax may sit outside it as long as you disclose it. Set your quotes, booking totals and receipts to that shape with your own advisor.

  • Settle how a card on file is stored before you store one

    If you hold a card to guarantee a reservation, that card is in scope for the PCI Data Security Standard. Its FAQ says the standard is intended for all entities involved in payment processing, including merchants, regardless of size, and that the individual payment brands decide whether a small merchant must validate compliance, pointing you to your acquirer or payment brand. Nevada's NRS 603A.215 requires a data collector doing business in Nevada that accepts payment cards to comply with the current version of the standard; other states were not checked. Nothing on this page is described as compliant with that standard, and the determination is your acquirer's, not a vendor page's.

  • Match the system to how small you actually are

    The spread here is $708 to $2,268 a year, which is $1,560 apart. For a property with three rooms and a breakfast service, the cheaper system posting a charge to a room may cover the whole job. For an inn with a public dining room, a bar and a shop, the more complete system earns the difference. Count your revenue centers before you count features.

Frequently Asked Questions About Bed and Breakfast POS

Is any of these built for a bed and breakfast?

No. Across the POS vendor pages we read, none names a bed and breakfast, an inn or a guesthouse. Toast and Lightspeed fit through hotel restaurant pages and Hike through a hotel and resort page. One vendor outside this comparison does name a B&B, so the gap is in this shortlist rather than in the whole market. Treat all three as hotel products and verify every capability against a property your size.

Do any of them add lodging tax to a room charge?

Not on the pages we read. None of the three documents a lodging tax line, and that is the one tax a B&B cannot avoid: Texas charges 6 percent state hotel occupancy tax and names bed and breakfasts, Vermont charges 9 percent rooms tax plus any 1 percent local option and lists inns and B&Bs, and New York's bulletin lists a bed and breakfast establishment. Pennsylvania's page does not say. Ask every vendor where that line is calculated, and confirm your own state with your tax advisor.

Which one can post a breakfast or a gift-shop sale to a guest's room?

All three reach it, by different routes. Lightspeed posts on-site purchases to the room and sends bills to the guest account in the PMS. Hike posts charges directly to guest rooms. Toast syncs room charges through PMS integrations and names Cloudbeds and Stayntouch. If POS with room charge integration is your requirement, the question is whether you already run a PMS, because that decides which route works.

What do these actually cost?

Lightspeed's hotel page says Hospitality starts at $189 USD a month, which is $2,268 a year. Hike is from $59 a month billed annually, $708 a year, or $69 monthly at $828, though its hotel page shows no price. Toast's Point of Sale starts at $69 a month, $828 a year for new customers at a single location, and its hotel page shows no price either. Lightspeed's restaurant pricing cards show $69, $189 and $399 USD with no billing period attached.

Do these handle reservations and room deposits?

Not on the pages we read. Room deposits and card guarantees are not documented for any of the three. Hike's hotel page mentions handling deposits and final settlements at front-desk checkout without describing them as room deposits, so we do not count it. A bed and breakfast reservation management system is a different product category, and the software that names B&Bs directly is property management software rather than POS.

What does the FTC fee rule mean for my room rates?

The rule, 16 CFR Part 464, took effect May 12, 2025 and covers short-term lodging including inns. You must disclose the total price more prominently than any other pricing information. A required resort fee must be included in that total. Government charges need not be included in the displayed total but must still be disclosed, which is why your lodging tax can sit outside the headline rate while a mandatory service fee cannot. This describes what the FTC published and is not legal advice.

Can I keep a card on file for a reservation?

None of the three documents card-on-file for reservations, so confirm it with the vendor. If you do store one, the PCI Data Security Standard is in scope: its FAQ says the standard is intended for all entities involved in payment processing including merchants regardless of size, and that the payment brands decide whether a small merchant must validate, pointing you to your acquirer. Nothing here is described as compliant with that standard.

How We Chose These POS Systems

We searched the major POS vendors for pages naming bed and breakfasts, inns or guesthouses and found none. We then took the three whose hotel pages come closest, read each vendor's own pages on October 27, 2027, recorded the match route for each so you can judge the fit yourself, and cited the page behind every line. Where a vendor's hotel page shows no price, we say so rather than carrying the entry plan across as though it applied. Where a capability is mentioned but not described, as with Hike's deposits at front-desk checkout, we do not count it.

We have not run any of these systems in a working property, we have not been briefed by any of these vendors, and we have no survey or study data of our own to cite. One vendor outside this comparison does name a B&B on its own page, which is why we describe a gap in this shortlist rather than in the market. Regulatory passages come from the Texas Comptroller, the Vermont Department of Taxes, the New York State Tax Department, the FTC and the PCI Security Standards Council pages named in Sources, and describe what those pages say. Only Texas, Vermont, New York and Pennsylvania were checked on lodging tax, local taxes were not researched, and Pennsylvania's page does not state whether B&Bs are covered. Nothing here is legal or tax advice, and no system is described as compliant with lodging tax rules, the FTC fee rule or PCI DSS.

Read our full method at /how-we-review/. Reviewed by CanComCo, Partner Experience Manager. Updated November 2027.

Our Verdict: Best Bed and Breakfast POS Overall

Lightspeed Restaurant is the pick for an inn with more than one revenue center, because it describes the whole flow: on-site purchases posted to the room, bills sent from the restaurant to the guest account in the PMS, and one system covering a dining room, bar, spa and gift shop. It is also the only one of the three that publishes a price on the page that applies to you, at $189 USD a month, which is $2,268 a year.

Hike is the runner-up and the better answer for a small guesthouse, at $708 a year billed annually. That is $1,560 less, which for a three-room property is the difference between a tool and an overhead. Its hotel page shows no price, so get the hotel configuration quoted before you plan around $708. Toast is the one to call if you already run Cloudbeds or Stayntouch, since it is the only system here that names them.

One caution for all three. None documents a lodging tax line, and three state pages name bed and breakfasts as covered. Decide who calculates that before you buy anything, because the software is not claiming it.

Get a POS

Tell us about your business and we will take it from there. Fields marked with an asterisk are required.

We use your details to respond to your request and keep form submissions for up to 24 months after our last interaction. We share your details with a vendor only when you give us permission. See our Privacy Policy.