Best Mobile POS Systems (2027)

Eight ways to take payment away from the counter. Some run on the phone in your pocket with no hardware at all, some pair with a reader from $29, and some are purpose-built handhelds up to $749. This page sorts them by which, and by what you actually pay.

Some links on this page may earn us a commission from the vendor, at no cost to you. Read how we review.

  • Best overall: Square. $0 per month, a $59 reader, and a $399 handheld if you grow into one.
  • Cheapest start: PayPal POS. First card reader $29, no monthly fee. It is $79 after the first.
  • Best handheld: Clover Flex. A built-in receipt printer at $749, so nothing else to carry.
Illustration: market seller taking a card payment on a phone with a small card reader

Top Mobile POS Systems at a Glance

  • Cheapest start

    PayPal POS

    The first card reader costs $29, the lowest entry on this page, with no monthly fee. Readers after the first cost $79, and it works only with PayPal payments.

    $0/mo. First reader $29, $79 after.

  • Best handheld

    Clover Flex

    A handheld with a thermal receipt printer built in, so you carry one device instead of two. $749, with Clover Go at $199 if you only need a reader.

    Clover Go $199. Clover Flex $749.

Why Mobile POS Matters for Your Business

Without a mobile POS, every sale happens at a fixed counter. Lines grow at busy times, and you cannot sell at markets, events or at the table.

Two concrete failures. A food truck cannot take cards at a festival because its POS only runs on a countertop terminal, so every card customer walks. A garden center loses sales on a busy spring weekend because all four hundred customers queue at one checkout, and some of them put the plants down and leave.

Before you shop, understand that mobile POS covers three different purchases, and they are priced an order of magnitude apart. The first is software on the phone you already own, with Tap to Pay reading the card directly: no hardware at all. The second is a cheap reader paired to that phone, from $29 to $199. The third is a purpose-built handheld with its own screen, battery and sometimes a printer, from $399 to $749. All three let you sell away from the counter. Only the third survives a ten-hour shift at a festival without a charger.

What to Look for in a Mobile POS System

  • 1. Whether it runs on the phone you already own

    Every system here has a mobile POS app, but check the device requirements against your oldest handset. Lightspeed's Tap to Pay needs an iPhone XS or later on iOS 17.4 or newer. PayPal's own pages disagree on whether the minimum is iOS 12 or 14, which is worth resolving before you plan around it. A smartphone POS system that will not install on half your staff phones is not cheaper, it is unusable.

  • 2. The cheapest card reader, or tap to pay with no reader at all

    The reader spread runs from $29 to $199: PayPal $29 for the first, Shopify $49 in the US, Square $59, Clover Go $199, Helcim $199. Lightspeed skips the reader entirely with Tap to Pay in its Scanner app. Loyverse sells none, so you buy third-party. A mobile POS with card reader bundled is one purchase. Sourcing the reader yourself is two.

  • 3. A handheld option with a built-in printer or scanner

    If you need a receipt in the customer's hand at the table, a phone will not do it. Clover Flex has a thermal printer built in at $749. Square Handheld is $399 but prints only through a network printer. Toast Go starts at $0 for a first device. Four of the eight have no handheld at all, so a mobile POS terminal in the proper sense is the minority option here.

  • 4. Whether it keeps working offline or on cellular data

    A market stall with no Wi-Fi is the test case. Helcim's reader does not support offline payments and pairs with one device at a time, so a two-staff setup needs two readers. Confirm offline behavior for every system on your shortlist, because the brief does not settle it for the rest.

  • 5. The same catalog, stock and reports as the counter

    A portable POS system that keeps a separate product list creates reconciliation work every night. Ask whether the mobile app reads the same catalog and writes to the same stock figures as your main till, and whether a sale on the floor appears in the counter's reports immediately.

  • 6. Clear hardware and per-transaction costs

    Price the whole kit, not the headline. Square at $0 per month plus a $59 reader is a different purchase from Lightspeed at $89 per month billed annually with no reader needed. Clover's 1 cent per month hardware rental sounds free until you read the condition: $100,000 to $200,000 in annual card sales and a three-year agreement. Mobile POS payment processing rates sit on top of all of this, so get those in the same quote.

Compare Mobile POS Software Side by Side

Three different purchase types sit in this table. Tap to Pay on phone means no hardware at all. Cheapest reader is a small device paired to your phone. Handheld device is a standalone unit with its own screen. Price all three before comparing.

POS system Starting price iPhone app Android app Cheapest reader Tap to Pay on phone Handheld device Offline card payments
SquareBest overall $0/mo (Square Free) Yes Yes $59 Not stated Square Handheld $399. Needs Wi-Fi, prints via network printer Not stated
PayPal POS $0/mo Yes. Minimum iOS stated as both 12 and 14 Yes $29 first reader, $79 after Not stated Not stated Not stated
Shopify POS Basic $39/mo Yes Yes $49 (US) Not stated POS Go discontinued. Existing units leave mobile selling mode after May 26, 2027 Not stated
Helcim $0 software Yes Not stated $199 Not stated Not stated No. Reader pairs with one device at a time
Clover Clover Go reader $199 Yes Not stated $199 (Clover Go) Not stated Clover Flex $749, thermal printer built in Not stated
Toast Toast Go from $0, first device only Toast hardware only Toast hardware only Not stated Not stated Toast Go. Model prices not published Not stated
Lightspeed Retail (X-Series) From $89/mo billed annually Yes, Scanner app. Tap to Pay needs iPhone XS or later on iOS 17.4+ Not stated None needed for Tap to Pay Yes, in the Scanner app Not stated Not stated
Loyverse Free app Yes Yes Third-party only Not stated No Not stated

Features and prices verified November 2026. Not stated means the vendor has not published the detail, not that the feature is missing.

Square: Best for a low-cost reader that grows into a handheld

Square is the only system here offering all three tiers from one account. The app is free on iPhone and Android, the reader is $59, and the Square Handheld is $399 when a phone stops being enough. For a business that does not yet know whether mobile selling will become core, that upgrade path removes the guess.

The $59 reader sits mid-range, above PayPal's $29 first unit and Shopify's $49, below Clover Go and Helcim at $199. With $0 per month, the first-year cost of going mobile with Square is the $59 and nothing else.

Two conditions on the Handheld. It needs Wi-Fi, which rules out a field or a festival with no network, and it prints only through a network printer, so there is no receipt in the customer's hand unless you carry a printer too. If a printed receipt at the table is the requirement, Clover Flex solves it and Square does not. Swiping cards also needs a separate magstripe reader.

Pros

  • $59 reader, mid-range
  • Free app on iPhone and Android
  • $399 handheld as an upgrade path

Cons

  • Square Handheld needs Wi-Fi
  • Handheld prints only via a network printer
  • Swiping needs a separate magstripe reader

Pricing: $0/mo (Square Free). Reader $59. Square Handheld $399.

PayPal POS: Best for the cheapest way to start taking cards

At $29, PayPal's first card reader is the lowest entry cost on this page, less than half of Square's $59 and about a seventh of Clover Go's $199. Add $0 per month and a weekend market seller can be taking cards for under thirty dollars.

Read the pricing carefully though: $29 is the first reader only. Additional readers cost $79, which is more than Square charges for its first. A two-stall operation pays $29 plus $79, which is $108, against $118 for two Square readers. The gap narrows fast as you add staff.

Two further limits. It works only with PayPal payments, so you are choosing a processor alongside the POS with no option to shop the rate later. And PayPal's own pages disagree on the minimum iOS version, stating both 12 and 14. If your staff carry older iPhones, get that answer before you buy, because the difference decides whether half your handsets work.

Pros

  • $29 first reader, the cheapest here
  • $0 per month
  • Runs on iPhone and Android

Cons

  • Additional readers cost $79
  • PayPal payments only
  • Vendor pages disagree on minimum iOS, 12 or 14

Pricing: $0/mo. First card reader $29, $79 after.

Clover: Best for a handheld with the receipt printer built in

Clover Flex is the only device on this page with a thermal receipt printer inside it. For tableside service, a market stall, or anywhere a customer expects paper in hand, that removes the second device from the kit. It costs $749, the highest hardware price here, and Clover Go is $199 if you only want a reader.

Clover advertises hardware for 1 cent a month, and the condition is the story: it requires $100,000 to $200,000 in annual card sales and a three-year agreement. Below that volume you are buying at list, and the three-year term is a real commitment on a device category that turns over every few years. Price the $749 outright purchase against 36 months of whatever rate the agreement carries.

Android support is not stated and neither is offline behavior. If your staff carry Android phones or your pitch has no signal, resolve both before committing to a three-year term.

Pros

  • Thermal receipt printer built into Clover Flex
  • Clover Go at $199 for a reader-only setup
  • Purpose-built handheld hardware

Cons

  • $749, the most expensive hardware here
  • The 1 cent rental needs $100,000 to $200,000 in annual card sales and a 3-year agreement
  • Android support and offline payments not stated

Pricing: Clover Go reader $199. Clover Flex handheld $749.

Lightspeed Retail: Best for line-busting with no hardware to buy

Lightspeed takes Tap to Pay through its Scanner app, which means a staff member with an iPhone becomes a till with nothing to buy and nothing to carry. For a retail floor on a busy Saturday, that is the fastest route from we have a queue to we have four tills.

The device requirement is specific: Tap to Pay on iPhone needs an iPhone XS or later running iOS 17.4 or newer. That is a higher floor than most systems here, so audit your staff handsets before you plan around it. Android support is not stated.

One operational limit matters more than it first appears: refunds cannot be done in the Scanner app. Every return goes back to the main till. For line-busting during a rush that is fine, since returns are rare mid-queue. For a store where staff handle exchanges on the floor, it breaks the workflow. Software starts at $89 per month billed annually, the highest here, though no reader purchase offsets part of that.

Pros

  • Tap to Pay with no reader to buy
  • Turns staff iPhones into tills for line-busting
  • Full retail platform behind it

Cons

  • Needs iPhone XS or later on iOS 17.4 or newer
  • Refunds cannot be done in the Scanner app
  • $89/mo billed annually, the highest software cost here

Pricing: from $89/mo billed annually. Tap to Pay in the Scanner app.

Shopify POS: Best for retailers selling online and at pop-ups

Shopify's Tap and Chip reader is $49 in the US, second cheapest here, and the app runs on both iPhone and Android. For a retailer already running a Shopify store, a pop-up or a market stall uses the same catalog, the same stock figures and the same back office as the website. That shared inventory is the reason to pick it.

Then there is the hardware problem, and it has a date on it. POS Go, Shopify's handheld, is no longer sold, and existing units leave mobile selling mode after May 26, 2027. If someone offers you a used POS Go, you are buying a device with a published end date. Plan around the $49 reader and a phone instead.

Software is $39 per month on Basic, which buys the whole Shopify platform rather than a payments tool. Judge it on that basis, not against Square's $0.

Pros

  • $49 reader in the US
  • Shared catalog and stock with your Shopify store
  • Runs on iPhone and Android

Cons

  • POS Go discontinued, existing units lose mobile selling mode after May 26, 2027
  • $39/mo on Basic
  • No current handheld option

Pricing: Basic $39/mo. Tap and Chip reader $49 (US).

Toast: Best for restaurants taking orders at the table

Toast Go is built for restaurant floors, and hardware starts at $0 for a first device. For a restaurant adding tableside ordering, that entry point is the lowest on this page: the server takes the order and the payment without walking back to the terminal.

Toast runs only on Toast hardware. There is no bring-your-own-phone option, which means your mobile POS budget is a hardware budget. For a restaurant that is often how it works anyway, since servers carrying personal phones raises its own problems.

Model prices are not published beyond the $0 first device, so you cannot budget a second, third or fourth Go unit from public information. A ten-table restaurant needs more than one. Get per-unit pricing in writing before you commit, because the $0 headline covers exactly one device.

Pros

  • Hardware from $0 for a first device
  • Purpose-built for tableside restaurant service
  • Vendor supplies and supports the devices

Cons

  • Runs only on Toast hardware
  • Model prices not published beyond the first device
  • No bring-your-own-phone option

Pricing: Toast Go hardware from $0, first device only.

Helcim: Best for mobile selling on interchange-plus pricing

Helcim charges $0 for software and prices on interchange-plus, which suits a business with enough card volume to care about the underlying rate rather than a flat number. The reader is $199, tied with Clover Go for the most expensive reader here.

Two constraints will decide this for a mobile setup. The reader does not support offline payments, so a market with no signal stops you selling. And it pairs with one device at a time, which means two staff selling simultaneously need two readers, at $199 each. For a single operator with reliable data, neither bites. For a festival team of three, that is $597 in readers plus the connectivity question.

Android support is not stated. If your staff carry Android phones, resolve that before the $199 purchase.

Pros

  • $0 software
  • Interchange-plus pricing suits higher volume
  • Works on iPhone

Cons

  • Reader does not support offline payments
  • Pairs with one device at a time, so each seller needs a $199 reader
  • Android support not stated

Pricing: $0 software. Card reader $199.

Loyverse: Best for selling on your own phone with no software fee

Loyverse's app is free and runs on both iPhone and Android, so a small seller can be taking orders on a phone they already own with no monthly cost at all. For a market trader tracking sales rather than processing cards in-app, that is the lowest-commitment option here.

Loyverse sells no reader and no handheld. You buy third-party hardware and pair it yourself, which means the mobile POS question splits into two purchases with two support lines. For a seller who already owns a reader, that is fine. For one starting from nothing, Square's $59 or PayPal's $29 arrives as one decision rather than two.

Nothing is published about Tap to Pay or offline card payments. Treat Loyverse as free order-taking software with hardware to source, and price the hardware before you compare it against Square's bundled $59.

Pros

  • Free app
  • Runs on iPhone and Android
  • No software fee at any volume

Cons

  • Sells no reader or handheld
  • Third-party hardware to source and support separately
  • Tap to Pay and offline payments not stated

Pricing: free app. Third-party readers.

Which Mobile POS Fits Your Situation

You run a food truck and take cards at markets

Go with Square or PayPal POS. Square's reader costs $59 and PayPal's first reader $29, and both run on iPhone or Android with no monthly fee. PayPal stays cheaper up to two readers, $108 against $118, because only the first is $29 and the rest are $79. From the third reader on, Square wins: $177 against $187. Count your sellers, then pick. Neither has published offline behavior, so ask before a market with no signal.

You run a restaurant and want tableside ordering

Go with Toast (Toast Go) or Clover (Flex). Toast Go is built for restaurants and starts at $0 for a first device, though per-unit prices beyond that are unpublished. Clover Flex has a thermal receipt printer built in at $749, so the server prints at the table. Pick on whether a printed receipt in hand matters more than the entry cost. Either one is a mobile restaurant POS system in the full sense, not a phone with an app.

You run a retail store and want shorter lines on busy days

Go with Lightspeed Retail or Shopify POS. Lightspeed's Scanner app takes Tap to Pay on iPhone with no reader at all, which is the fastest way to add a till for one afternoon. Shopify's Tap and Chip reader costs $49. Check Lightspeed's requirement first: iPhone XS or later on iOS 17.4 or newer, and no refunds in the Scanner app. For a mobile retail POS system that shares stock with your online store, Shopify is the closer fit.

Frequently Asked Questions

Can I use a mobile POS on the phone I already own?

With most of these, yes. Square, PayPal POS, Shopify POS and Loyverse all have apps for both iPhone and Android. Helcim, Clover and Lightspeed confirm iPhone with Android not stated. Toast is the exception: it runs only on Toast hardware, so there is no bring-your-own-phone option.

What does a card reader cost?

From $29 to $199. PayPal's first reader is $29 and $79 after that, Shopify's is $49 in the US, Square's is $59, and Clover Go and Helcim are both $199. Lightspeed needs no reader at all if you use Tap to Pay in its Scanner app. Loyverse sells none, so you buy third-party.

Do I need a reader at all, or can the phone take the payment?

Lightspeed confirms Tap to Pay in its Scanner app, which uses the phone itself and needs no reader. The other seven have not published a Tap to Pay position in this brief, so ask each one. Where Tap to Pay works, the hardware cost of going mobile drops to zero.

Which ones offer a handheld with a built-in printer?

Only Clover Flex, at $749, which has a thermal receipt printer inside. Square Handheld is $399 but prints through a network printer rather than its own. Toast Go is built for restaurants with prices unpublished beyond a $0 first device. Shopify's POS Go is discontinued, and existing units leave mobile selling mode after May 26, 2027.

Does a mobile POS work without internet?

Helcim's reader does not support offline payments, which the vendor states directly. The other seven have not published an offline position we can cite here. If you sell at markets, festivals or anywhere with thin signal, make this a written question to the vendor before you buy anything.

Can two staff take payments at the same time?

Usually, but check the pairing rules. Helcim's reader pairs with one device at a time, so each simultaneous seller needs their own $199 reader. For a three-person festival team that is $597 in hardware. The other systems have not published pairing limits in this brief.

Will my mobile sales show up in the same reports as the counter?

That is the question to put to every vendor on your shortlist. A mobile POS running a separate catalog or separate stock figures creates nightly reconciliation work. Shopify's case is the clearest here, since the POS and the online store share one catalog and one stock count by design.

Our Verdict on Mobile POS

Square is the pick for most businesses, because it is the only system here covering all three tiers from one account: a free app, a $59 reader, and a $399 handheld when you outgrow the phone, with no monthly fee at any point. PayPal POS wins on entry cost alone at $29 for the first reader, as long as you process through PayPal and only need one. If you need a receipt printed at the table, Clover Flex at $749 is the only device here with the printer inside it. And if your floor staff already carry recent iPhones, Lightspeed Retail turns them into tills with no hardware purchase at all.

Get a POS

Tell us about your business and we will take it from there. Fields marked with an asterisk are required.

We use your details to respond to your request and keep form submissions for up to 24 months after our last interaction. We share your details with a vendor only when you give us permission. See our Privacy Policy.